Pune is inter-district champion

Sakal Times
Tuesday, 2 January 2018

Pune girls defeat Nagpur 66-42 to emerge victorious; Mumbai South East get past Pune 80-77 in boys final 

Pune: Pune girls defeated Nagpur 66-42 to clinch the title of the 68th Maharashtra State Senior Inter-District Basketball Championship which concluded at Matunga in Mumbai on Tuesday.

For Pune, Rupali Tripathi scored 15 points while Shruti Sherigar and Shireen Limaye scored 14 points each.

For Nagpur, Shreya Dandekar scored 15 points while Mugdha Amraotkar scored 13 points followed by Rasika Pande who added 12 points to the tally.

In the battle for the third place, Mumbai North defeated Satara with the score reading 79-62. 

Suzanne Pinto top scored for Mumbai North with 22 points while Priti Yadav added 20 points. 

Meanwhile for Satara, Shruti Bhosale scored 17 points while Rutuja Pawar scored 15 points.

In the men’s final, Mumbai South East defeated Pune 80-77 to walk home with the title. 

Amit Gahlot of the Mumbai outfit was in good form as he scored 28 points while Imran Siddique scored 19 points to help their team register the win. It was a close battle as baksets kept coming in at regular intervals.

For Pune, getting on the scoreline were Yousuf Sayyed who scored 20 points and Edvin Irvin who chipped in with 20 points.

In the third place encounter, Mumbai Central defeated Mumbai South West 82-55. Saurabh Mishra from Mumbai Central top scored with 26 points while Isreal Fernando added 19 points to the tally.

For Mumbai South West, Ashraf Siddique scored 13 points and Sameer Qureshi scored 10 points.

Mosin Shaikh from Mumbai South East won the best player of the championship award in the men’s category while Rupali Tripathi from Pune won in the women’s category.

Final: Pune 66 (Rupali Tripathi 15, Shruti Sherigar 14, Shireen Limaye 14) bt Nagpur 42 (Shreya Dandekar 15, Mugdha Amraotkar 13, Rasika Pande 12). 
Third Place: Mumbai North 79 (Suzanne Pinto 22, Priti Yadav 20) bt Satara 62 (Shruti Bhosale 17, Rutuja Pawar 15). 
Final: Mumbai South East 80 (Amit Gahlot 28, Imran Siddique 19) bt Pune 77 (Yousuf Sayyed 20, Edvin Irvin 20) 
Third Place: Mumbai Central 82 (Saurabh Mishra 26, Isreal Fernando 19) bt Mumbai South West 55 (Ashraf Siddique 13, Sameer Qureshi 10) 
Best Player of Championship (Men): Mosin Shaikh (Mumbai South East). 
Best Player of Championship (Women): Rupali Tripathi (Pune).

Related News

​ ​