PCMC School crowned champions

Sakal Times
Sunday, 14 January 2018

Hat-trick from Ganesh Athavale helps PCMC School thrash Modern High School 3-0

Pune: PCMC School emerged champions with a facile 3-0 win over Modern HS to claim the inaugural Father Schoch Memorial (Under-14) Inter-School Hockey tournament at the Major Dhyan Chand Hockey Stadium, Nehrunagar-Pimpri on Saturday.

Playing on their home turn, PCMC School were led to the title following a three-goal effort by Ganesh Athavale. PCMC School opened their account when Ganesh (15th) foxed goalkeeper Atharva Javeri and added another four minutes later. At half time, PCMC School led 2-0.

Ganesh added another in the 21st minute of play.   

The third place was claimed by St. Ursula HS, Akurdi who edged out Jyoti English Medium School, Nehrunagar via the shoot-out after playing out a 1-1 draw at full time.

St. Ursula were the first to open the account when Jaskaran Singh (8th) sounded the boards. Four minutes later, Jyoti English Medium School, Nehrunagar had Sanjeev Chavan level scores.

In the shootout, St. Ursula HS had Abhishekh Nair, Kaif Sayyed, Jaskaran Singh gain success, while the losers had Pankaj Singh and Islam Shaikh score.

Final: PCMC School 3 (Ganesh Athavale 15th, 19th, 21st) bt Modern High School 0.   
Thrid place: St. Ursula High School, Akurdi 1 (Jaskaran Singh 8th) bt Jyoti English Medium School, Nehrunagar 1 (Sanjeev Chavan 12th). Tie breaker 3-2.
Other Awards:
Best Goalkeeper: Arjun Gaikwad (Loyola High School)
Best Defender: Rahul Uttekar (Modern High School)
Highest Scorer: Ritesh Tarkase (PCMC)
Best Player of the Tournament: Jaskaran Singh (St. Ursula High School).

Related News

​ ​