Odisha, Punjab, Chandigarh, UP enter semi-finals

Sakal Times
Tuesday, 6 February 2018

Completing the semi-final line-up were Uttar Pradesh and Chandigarh who moved past Haryana (3-1) and Rajasthan (9-2) respectively.

NEW DELHI: Title contenders Odisha and Punjab registered easy victories over Delhi (5-1) and Karnataka (7-1) respectively to move into the semi-finals of the Boys hockey competition in Khelo India School Games at Dhyan Chand National Stadium on Monday.

In the semifinals, Odisha will play Uttar Pradesh and Punjab will face Chandigarh on Wednesday.

Completing the semi-final line-up were Uttar Pradesh and Chandigarh who moved past Haryana (3-1) and Rajasthan (9-2) respectively.

In the first quarter-final of the day, Delhi hardly posed any real threat to their rivals, Odisha, who still took 21 minutes for Odisha to score their first goal. Captain Amardeep Lakra converted a penalty corner and 10 minutes later Sudeep Chirmako made it 2-0.

Three minutes into the second half, Delhi earned a penalty corner against the run of play and Rakesh found the target (1-2).

Taken by surprise Odisha launched furious counter attacks and three minutes later the Delhi citadel crumbled again as Amandeep Lakra scored his second and team’s third off a penalty corner (3-1). Odisha slammed two more goals through Matiyas Dang and Samir Ekka to complete the tally.

Raman Kumar scored three goals as Punjab made short work of Karnataka. The winners led 2-0 at halftime.

Punjab surge ahead
Punjab surged ahead in the 19th minute when Prateek Sharma sent the ball in off a penalty corner and then Angadbir Singh raised the tally to 2-0.

In second session Punjab’s Jaspreet Singh and Sudarshan Singh added a goal each to Raman Kumar’s three-goal tally. Karnataka managed to reduce the gap in the 57th minute through Cyril Lugun.

Earlier trailing till the 35th minute, Uttar Pradesh staged a good rally to put it across Haryana 3-1. The teams were leveled 1-1 at the break.

In the last quarterfinal, Chandigarh handed a 9-2 drubbing to Rajasthan.

NEW DELHI: Top-seeded Dhruv Rawat (Uttarakhand) and Malvika Bansod (Maharashtra) made light of the challenge of their respective opponents in the boys and girls’ singles opening round matches when the badminton competition in the inaugural Khelo India School Games got under way at the Indira Gandhi Stadium here on Monday.

“I told myself that there was no room for complacency and that the match was not won until the last point went in my favour,” said Dhruv Rawat after beating wild-card entrant Subanshu Tiwari (Arunachal Pradesh) 21-5, 21-3 in a mere 17 minutes. “I remembered the Asian Badminton Championship match (against Taufik Hidayat Ilmi) when I lost because I assumed a win after taking the first game.”

Nagpur’s Malvika Bansod, fresh from winning a senior all-India ranking crown, took 20 minutes to book her pre-quarterfinal berth with a 21-10, 21-7 win against Tamil Nadu’s V Sarumarthi. Gayathri Gopichand, seeded third in the girls’ draw, pulled out as she is recovering from an injury. Rajasthan’s Anuska secured a walk-over into the round of 16.

Playing a fast and incisive game Jharkhand drubbed Odisha 7-0 while Chandigarh overpowered Uttar Pradesh 4-1 to sail into the semi finals of the Girls Hockey competition in Khelo India School Games at DhyanChand National stadium on Monday.

In the other two quarter-finals, Haryana outclassed Delhi 5-2 while Punjab drubbed Chhattisgarh 10-0 to book the two other semi final slots. In the semifinals Haryana will clash with Chandigarh while Jharkhand will take on Punjab on Wednesday.

It was delightful display of aggressive but collective hockey by Jharkhand. Their agility and swiftness on the field was a treat to watch as Odisha girls struggled to find their rhythm , which they never found.

Haryana made short work of Delhi as they led 1-0 at half time. The winners had to wait till the 32 minutes to break the deadlock through Bharati.

In the last quarter final Punjab toyed with Chhattisgarh 10-0. The winners scored five goals in each half. Baljeet Kaur (4), Amandeep Kaur ,Simranjeet Kaur,Harpreet Kaur (two each) were the goal getters.

Related News

​ ​