Hockey India names 35 players for Men’s National Coaching Camp

Sakal Times
Saturday, 4 November 2017

Players will report on November 5 for 18-day national camp ahead of the Odisha Hockey World League Final Bhubaneswar 2017

New Delhi: After stamping their supremacy in the continent by winning the prestigious Hero Asia Cup 2017, the Indian Men’s Team will regroup at the Sports Authority of India, Bengaluru for 18-day National camp ahead of the all-important Odisha Hockey World League Final in Bhubaneswar to begin on 1 December 2017.

The 35-member core group that includes the 18-member Asia Cup squad as well as players who were part of the India ‘A’ team that participated in the Australian Hockey League will be put to test starting November 5 in order to select the final team for the season finale in Odisha.

While there is no change in the core group which includes the likes of Manpreet Singh, SV Sunil, Sardar Singh, Harmanpreet Singh, Chinglensana Singh, Gurjant Singh, Ramandeep Singh, SK Uthappa, Harjeet Singh, Dipsan Tirkey, Akashdeep Singh, Varun Kumar, Armaan Qureshi, Affan Yousuf among others, goalkeepers Akash Chikte and Suraj Karkera will be joined by Vikas Dahiya and celebrated custodian PR Sreejesh who is working on making a comeback after a long haul due to injury.

Dragflick specialist Rupinder Pal Singh, fullbacks Birender Lakra and Kothajit Singh too will be available for selection after injury lay-off while forward Mandeep Singh is back in the camp after being rested for the Asia Cup. “It is not only the players making a come back after recovering from an injury who will have to prove their mettle but every single player will have to strive to make his position in the team for the Odisha Hockey World League Final Bhubaneswar 2017. The standards are high to be selected in the team and that’s good because it makes players better,” asserted Chief Coach Sjoerd Marijne.

Not reading too much into the Asia Cup triumph, Marijne was modest to admit that the team needs to improve a lot more to achieve the desired results at the December event. He said, “Together we have to become more consistent. We have a tendency of dropping our level too low in a match where the opponent ends up coming back into the game. If we make too many technical errors the level drops and that’s one of the things we have to improve and focus upon during this camp.”

Emphasizing on room for improvement, the Dutchman was also quick to draw positives from his team’s abilities on the pitch. “The team brings a lot of energy into matches. Our speed and fitness are strong points and if we combine this in a good way with our technical skills then we can be quite lethal,” he stated.   

National Campers:   
1.     Akash Chikte
2.     P.R. Sreejesh
3.     Vikas Dahiya
4.     Suraj Karkera
5.     Dipsan Tirkey
6.     Pardeep Mor
7.     Birendra Lakra
8.     Kothajit Singh
9.     Surender Kumar
10.   Rupinderpal Singh
11.   Harmanpreet Singh
12.   Jasjit Singh Kular
13.   Gurinder Singh
14.   Amit Rohidas
15.   Varun Kumar
16.   Chinglensana Singh
17.   S.K. Uthappa
18.   Sumit
19.   Satbir Singh
20.   Sardar Singh
21.   Manpreet Singh
22.   Harjeet Singh
23.   Nilakanta Sharma
24.   Manpreet (Junior)
25.   Simranjeet Singh
26.   Ramandeep Singh
27.   SV Sunil
28.   Talwinder Singh
29.   Mandeep Singh
30.   Affan Yousuf
31.   Nikkin Thimmaiah
32.   Gurjant Singh
33.   Akashdeep Singh
34.   Lalit Upadhyay
35.   Armaan Qureshi

Related News

​ ​