Chandrakant, Priyanka bag top honours

Monday, 1 October 2018

Chandrakant Manwadkar was home in 31 minutes 55 seconds while Priyanka Chavarkar completes the run in 41 minutes and five seconds

PUNE: Chandrakant Manwadkar and Priyanka Chavarkar won the Pune 10K INTENCITY Run respectively in the men’s and women’s Elite Run category as the Season II of this 10-city run started from Pune at the Balewadi Sports Complex here on Sunday.

Manwadkar was home in 31 minutes 55 seconds beating Dharmendra Kumar Yadav (32:00) and Pralhad Ram Singh (33:17) to the second and third places respectively.

Overnight rains had helped temperatures come down and that helped the runners clock better timings.

In the women’s Elite run, Chavarkar clocked 41 minutes 05 seconds while Swati Vhanwade (41:32) and Nayan Kirdar (41:59) finished in second and third positions respectively.

The 10-km stretch began from the Shiv Chhatrapati Sports Complex and turned towards an underpass on the Highway before proceeding on to the Balewadi Phata before returning back to culminate at the stadium.

The Pune leg bettered last year’s attendance by clocking around 4000 attendees, who were flagged off by Puneri Paltan kabaddi team players Girish Ernak and Akshay Jadhav along with Commonwealth Games medallist Krishnakumar Rane.

The run, supported by the Athletics Federation of India, Puneri Paltan and FC Pune City, will cover seven cities in which the runners will participate in 10 km, 5 km and 2 km runs.

“India needs to take sports like athletics very seriously and the city of Pune has taken a lead in this,” said Anand Menezes, Olympian and Promotor of the run.

Hyderabad, Bengaluru, Mumbai and Chennai are the next cities where this run will be held with the final leg scheduled in Kolkata on February 24, 2019.

Elite Men 10K: 1. Chandrakant Manwadkar 31 min 55 secs, 2. Dharmendra Kumar Yadav 32:00, 3. Pralhad Ram Singh 33:17.
Elite Women 10K: 1. Priyanka Chavarkar 41:05, 2. Swati Vhanwade 41:32, 3. Nayan Kirdar 41:59.
Future Champions Run 2K:
Boys: 1. Mahadev Kumbhar, 2. Prathamesh Holkar, 3. Abhishek Sakhare.
Girls: 1. Shreeja Reddy, 2. Vagisha Kumar, 3. Ananya Sirki.
Men: 1. Jaybhay Dattaray, 2. Santosh Wagh, 3. J Muthukrishan.
Women: 1. Jui Dongre, 2. Swati Agarwal, 3. Rajshree.

Related News