Bikers back to business on the day of harvest festival

Sakal Times
Sunday, 14 January 2018

Defending champions, Team TVS Racing, have put together a four-member team comprising Rugved Barguje, Harith Noah, Abdul Waheed Tanweer and Yash Pawar

Pune: Pune rider Rugved Barguje, who assumed overall bronze finish in the 2017 Nationals is geared up along with his teammate and defending champion Harith Noah for yet another grueling supercross season, which is beginning a tad early in the year on Sunday-coinciding with the harvest festival that is celebrated across the country.

The Kerala town of Kochi is where the 19th MRF MoGrip-FMSCI National Supercross championship 2018 gets into action as the organisers, Godspeed Racing, intends to take this very exciting form of motorsports to different destinations each passing year.

“The opening round of the national supercross championship will be a part of the two-day motor extravaganza-‘Pete’s Super Sunday’-which is an extremely popular event in Kochi that includes supercars, bikes and a carnival atmosphere for the enthusiasts,” informed Shyam Kothari, the Director of Godspeed Racing.

Initially Team TVS was reluctant to start the 2018 season before the end of the 2017 financial year, but the champion team decided to go ahead as Kochi offered a new destination and also a chance to be part of an established motor extravaganza.

“I am preparing for by board examinations this year, but given that this is a national championship round, I decided to take part in Kochi and then prepare for my studies,” said Rugved from Kochi.

No supercross for Pune
After years of being part of the National championship rounds, Pune will miss out on the supercross action this season as the Pune-based Godspeed Racing has decided to have Indore as a venue this season too, after a tremendous response last year when the motorsports enthusiasts stayed on for two hours past midnight to see the breathtaking biking action.

The National supercross championship is the biggest off-road 2-wheeler championship, which is being taken to different cities by the 7-time National champion Shyam Kothari, who has held the rights of organizing this championship for about a decade now.
While Kochi will host the first round, the other cities that have been zeroed on are Coimbatore, Jaipur, Nashik, Indore and Goa, not necessariliy hosting the rounds in this order.

Coimbatore, Jaipur and Nashik too received good response that went in their favour while the organisers decided on the venues.

New classes
The 19th edition of National Supercross has attracted almost 100 participants across the eight categories.

“Due to the popularity of the JR SX, the Juniors class, which Godspeed introduced a few years ago and looking at its subsequent growth, we have now decided to give these budding racers a chance to up their game and graduate to the next level depending on their age,” said Kothari.

National SuperCross 
The categories:
Class 1 SX1 Foreign Expert Class Group A
Class 2 Novice Group C
Class 5 Indian Experts Group C
Class 4 Locals Group B
Class 6 Private Experts Group C
Class 7 SX2 Group A
Class 8 Junior SX 1 and Junior SX 2 Group A/B/C/D. 

In 2017, motorsports enthusiasts in Goa and Indore gave tremendous response so the title sponsors MRF decided to have the rounds in 2018 too. 
 - Shyam Kothari
(Director, Godspeed Racing)

Related News

​ ​