Displaying 1 - 20 of 54
Commerce and Industry Minister Piyush Goyal has been quick to clarify his remark on Amazon founder Jeff Bezos not doing India a...
Monday, January 20, 2020 - 10:18
In the non-stop hail of worsening economic indicators, one stands out. That the unemployment levels today are the worst they’ve...
Monday, December 30, 2019 - 12:03
This Republic owes a huge debt of gratitude to celebrity writer-activist Arundhati Roy. She single-handedly saved India from the...
Monday, December 23, 2019 - 12:00
For seven decades now, the Pakistani establishment has had one mantra, “Kashmir is just one unfinished business of Partition. You...
Monday, December 9, 2019 - 11:18
In politics, or war by any other means, the oldest principle is: The enemy’s enemy is your friend. And what do you do when you...
Sunday, November 17, 2019 - 15:24
Imran Khan isn’t the brightest being you have met, except when playing cricket. Yet, even by his standards, his offer to make the...
Monday, November 11, 2019 - 11:06
Google tells me that the real Napoleon Bonaparte used somewhat more vivid imagery to rhetorically raise and dismiss the question...
Monday, November 4, 2019 - 09:27
It has been an extended monsoon this year. Finally, the wind patterns are now reversing. In the capital, they now become dry,...
Thursday, October 31, 2019 - 10:57
The most intriguing thing about the latest Bharat Ratna-for-Savarkar controversy is how it has left the Congress with its...
Monday, October 21, 2019 - 09:03
It isn’t an expression our political class likes to use often, but there is talk every now and then to unleash the animal spirits...
Monday, October 7, 2019 - 09:51
Does the world care about Kashmir? They know that it is a part of the subcontinent over which India and Pakistan keep trading...
Monday, September 30, 2019 - 10:54
The many years I spent covering and travelling to countries where people weren’t quite as free to speak against their rulers as...
Monday, September 23, 2019 - 10:03
India is facing a rising, new strategic threat. It isn’t another brigade the Pakistanis moved to the LoC or another overly...
Monday, September 9, 2019 - 10:39
Kashmir has a new status quo & Pakistan can risk breaking it. A solution can be found only after accepting that the existing...
Monday, August 19, 2019 - 09:42
India’s big cities are rotting, growing into massive, self-governing slums. When attempts are made to fix them, corals come in...
Monday, July 22, 2019 - 09:24
Three things have triggered this week’s thought process.  One, the wide dismay in the strategic community over the stationary...
Monday, July 15, 2019 - 10:09
There was both a buzz and a hush among the front rows at Rashtrapati Bhavan as Sushma Swaraj walked in to sit in the front row...
Monday, June 3, 2019 - 10:15
Writings on the Wall is a metaphor that grew out of my travels, mostly through the poll-bound regions of India and the...
Monday, May 13, 2019 - 13:36
You can pick your metaphor: It takes iron to break iron. Diamond cuts diamond. If you so wish, you can even say, poison is the...
Monday, May 6, 2019 - 13:45
Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Kamal Nath is the latest, and so far, the most senior Congress leader to indicate a target for his...
Monday, April 29, 2019 - 09:18