Displaying 1 - 20 of 102
India registered its highest single-day spike of COVID-19 cases on Sunday with 8,380 new infections reported in the last 24 hours...
Sunday, May 31, 2020 - 10:54
Mumbai: The Maharashtra government has decided to release on temporary parole 17,000 of the total 35,000 inmates lodged across...
Tuesday, May 12, 2020 - 19:33
Yangon: Myanmar announced on Friday that it was releasing almost 25,000 prisoners under a presidential amnesty marking this week'...
Friday, April 17, 2020 - 16:09
The United States is struggling. The nation has converted into the epicentre of the novel coronavirus outbreak in North America....
Friday, April 10, 2020 - 17:45
Chandigarh: Haryana Home Minister Anil Vij on Wednesday said the Tablighi Jamaat members who had failed to report to the...
Wednesday, April 8, 2020 - 20:21
Mumbai: Two undertrials lodged at Maharashtra's Aurangabad Central Jail have approached the Bombay High Court against a high-...
Tuesday, April 7, 2020 - 20:06
Roughly 700 inmates were released from county jails in New Jersey as the region emerges as one of the hotbeds of the novel...
Tuesday, April 7, 2020 - 11:45
New Delhi: COVID cases in India rose to 415, Union health ministry said, as much of the country locked down on Monday with the...
Monday, March 23, 2020 - 17:09
New Delhi: From a central jail that could lodge only 1,273 prisoners to becoming south Asia's largest prison complex that houses...
Friday, March 20, 2020 - 17:21
New Delhi: The four Nirbhaya convicts -- Akshay Thakur, Mukesh Singh, Vinay Sharma and Pawan Gupta -- spent a restless night as...
Friday, March 20, 2020 - 10:06
New Delhi: All legal routes to escape the noose closed on Thursday for the four men convicted in the Nirbhaya gangrape case who...
Thursday, March 19, 2020 - 20:06
New Delhi: Seven years after the execution of Afzal Guru, Tihar Jail on Thursday prepared the ground to hang the four men...
Thursday, March 19, 2020 - 16:51
PUNE: To decongest jails across the State, Maharashtra Prison Department has proposed to release prisoners accused of minor...
Wednesday, March 18, 2020 - 10:51
We all know that Gandhian teachings have crossed Indian shores, and many people are well-versed with it. But when I recently met...
Saturday, March 14, 2020 - 22:09
KABUL: The Afghan government will gradually release 5,000 Taliban prisoners starting this week if the insurgents significantly...
Wednesday, March 11, 2020 - 09:30
MUMBAI: Home Minister Anil Deshmukh on Monday said in the Legislative Assembly that to avoid infection among jail inmates in...
Tuesday, March 3, 2020 - 13:45
New Delhi: The Supreme Court Tuesday said it would hear on March 5 the plea filed by the Centre challenging the Delhi High Court...
Tuesday, February 25, 2020 - 17:51
Washington: India has been hitting the US "very hard" on trade with high tariffs for many years, Donald Trump complained ahead of...
Friday, February 21, 2020 - 16:36
NEW DELHI/WASHINGTON: The US government and the Taliban, by the end of this month, are to sign their peace treaty which includes...
Saturday, February 15, 2020 - 14:09
Speaking at the founding day of the National Cadet Corps (NCC) on Tuesday, Prime Minister Narendra Modi said that all India’s...
Sunday, February 9, 2020 - 16:48