BJP’s Dheeraj Ghate to be new Leader of House in PMC

Wednesday, 4 December 2019

Hemant Rasane will be new Standing Committee chairman

PUNE: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has announced that its corporator Dheeraj Ghate will be the Leader of the House while Hemant Rasane will be the Standing Committee Chairman in the PMC. Mayor Murli Mohol announced the development on Tuesday.

After appointing new mayor and the deputy mayor, the BJP decided to make changes in key positions in PMC. 

The decision was taken at the BJP corporators’ meeting. Both key positions have gone to corporators from Kasba Peth Assembly constituency area. 

Addressing a press conference, Mohol said, “Our party leadership decided to change the existing key positions in all civic bodies in the State after completion of two-and-a-half years of the tenure, where BJP is ruling. Hence, Leader of House Shrinath Bhimale, Standing Committee Chairman Sunil Kamble and PMPML Director Siddharth Shirole resigned from their posts.” 

He said, “Later, city party leaders decided to appoint Ghate as the House Leader and Rasane as Standing Committee Chairman. After completing necessary formalities, both will take charge in coming few days. Our party will announce new PMPML director soon.”

Mohol added that both are loyalists and senior party workers.  

Ghate has a good rapport with party workers and Ganesh mandals in the city. He is a corporator and representing Navi Peth area. He is secretary of the State unit of Bharatiya Janata Party. Rasane is a senior corporator, elected for the fourth time from Shaniwar Peth-Sadashiv Peth area. 

Both were aspirants for the State Assembly polls from Kasba Peth constituency. However, the party gave candidature to then Mayor Mukta Tilak, who became MLA from Kasba Peth.

Murlidhar Mohol was elected mayor after Mukta Tilak completed her two-and-a-half years tenure. Shirole and Kamble were also elected as MLAs.

Related News

​ ​