Bapat wins by more than 3 lakh votes

Thursday, 23 May 2019

In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, Anil Shirole of BJP won this seat by defeating Congress candidate Vishwajeet Kadam

Pune: In keeping with the nationwide tide in favour of Prime Minister Narendra Modi, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) once again bagged the Pune Lok Sabha seat. 

The BJP-Shiv Sena alliance candidate Girish Bapat won by a margin of more than 3 lakh votes. He defeated Congress grand alliance candidate Mohan Joshi. However, as the counting continued till late in the night, official confirmation of his victory was not announced till the time of going to the press. 

In the last Lok Sabha election, Anil Shirole won the Pune seat by a margin of over three lakh votes. In Western Maharashtra, BJP-Shiv Sena retained Maval and Pune Lok Sabha seats. Barne won the Maval seat and defeated Ajit Pawar's son Parth Pawar. 

NCP candidate Amol Kolhe won the Shirur seat and defeated Shiv Sena candidate Shivaji Adhalrao Patil. NCP succeed in retaining the Baramati seat with its candidate Supriya Sule. The BJP put in a lot of efforts, but failed to win the Baramati seat with Kanchan Kul. 

Bapat was leading from the first round. The counting began at 8 am at Koregaon Park-based Food Corporation of India (FCI) godown. 

In the first round, Bapat was leading by 15,772 votes and Joshi received 14,124 votes. Bapat was leading in all eight constituencies: Wadgaon Sheri, Parvati, Kasba, Shivajinagar, Pune Cantonment and Kothrud. The Congress party was confident of getting a lead in Vadgaon Sheri and Parvati, but it did not happen till the final round. 

Vanchit Bahujan Aghadi (VBA) Anil Jadhav got around 80,000 votes. 

Congress candidate Mohan Joshi was present at the counting centre from the first round. Congress leader Abhay Chhajjed and Joshi registered complaints regarding EVM machines with the election officers. Therefore, counting was delayed in the afternoon. 

Joshi said, “We filed more than 10 complaints to the Returning Officer after the polling booth agents found out the EVM machines had 99 per cent battery intact. We suspect foul play. It is highly unlikely that after voting was done the machine would have 99 per cent battery left.” 

However, District Collector Naval Kishor Ram said,” There were only very minor mistakes. Also no EVM machine was found damaged. So, we are not conducting VVPAT inquiry for any machines yet.” 

Bapat entered the counting centre in the afternoon. He said, “The credit for the victory in the Pune Lok Sabha election goes to Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Maharashtra Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis. It is also the victory of all party workers, MPs and MLAs and MLCs. We accepted our defeat in Baramati. However, Parth Pawar's defeat is rejection of dynastic politics.” 

In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, Anil Shirole of BJP won this seat by defeating Congress candidate Vishwajeet Kadam by a margin of 3,15,769 votes which was 31.79% of the total votes polled in the constituency. The BJP had a vote share of 57.37% in 2014 in the seat. There were a total of 29 contestants in 2014. 

​ ​

Related News