152 Candidates, Including Many Bigwigs, File Nomination Papers In Pune District

ST Correspondent
Friday, 4 October 2019

They include Guardian Minister Chandrakant Patil and Mayor Tilak

Pune: Many prominent faces from Pune filed the nomination on Thursday. Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) State President Chandrakant Patil filed his nomination for Kothrud Assembly constituency, amid a show of strength.
Patil garlanded the statue of Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj and then left with a huge motorbike rally to file his papers.

Siddharth Shirole,  Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) candidate also filed his nomination for Shivajinagar Assembly constituency. Dattatray Bahirat of Indian National Congress (INC) filed for Shivajinagar. Sunil Kamble, who headed the Pune Municipal Corporation Standing Committee as BJP candidate filed his nomination papers for Pune Cantonment constituency.

Mayor Mukta Tilak filed her nomination for Kasba constituency. Her opponent and three-time corporator Arvind Shinde also filed his nomination as Congress candidate.

As many as 152 candidates filed nomination papers on Thursday for 21 Assembly constituency seats from Pune district at their respective Election Commission office. 

The break-up of nominations forms received constituency-wise is as follows: Junnar 6, Ambegaon 9, Khed-Alandi 3, Shirur 8, Daund 3, Indapur 14, Baramati 7, Purandhar 2, Bhor 11, Maval 5, Chinchwad 4, Pimpri 11, Bhosari 6, Vadgaon Sheri 10, Shivajinagar 6, Kothrud 6, Khadakwasla 5, Parvati  9, Hadapsar 11, Pune Cantonment 8 and Kasba 8.

October 4 is the last the date for filing nominations and October 7 the last day of withdrawing the nominations. The State Assembly election is scheduled to take place on October 21. 

​ ​

Related News