LokSabha 2019: Mumbai votes at 57 per cent

Pandurang Mhaske
Tuesday, 30 April 2019

The citizens of Mumbai came out in large numbers all over on polling day to vote

MUMBAI: The financial capital of the country recorded 57 per cent voter turn out, where Bollywood stars and industrialists showed up to vote and appealed to the citizens of Mumbai to vote in large numbers. Mumbai North recorded the highest voting percentage of 57.76, while Mumbai North Central recorded the lowest voting at 49.49 per cent.

Maharashtra registered a voter turnout of 60 per cent till 6 pm. The highest voter turnout was in Nandurbar with 60.27 per cent while the lowest till was in Kalyan with 40.83 per cent.

The fourth phase of the ongoing Lok Sabha elections, also the last day of polling in Maharashtra, saw stars, corporate bosses, sports icons and authors step out in Mumbai to cast their vote. 

Film star Amitabh Bachchan, Aamir Khan, Shahrukh Khan, Salman Khan, Rekha, Priyanka Chopra were among the early voters in Mumbai on Monday. Cricketer Sachin Tendulkar, Sunil Gavaskar and industrialist Anil Ambani, Congress candidate Urmila Matondkar also cast their votes. NCP Chief Sharad Pawar cast his vote at Tardeo.  

Polling has been underway since 7 am across 17 Lok Sabha seats in Maharashtra where 3.11 crore voters are eligible to exercise their democratic right.

The mood of the voters was a little different than before owing to the long queues at the polling stations since the morning, in Mumbai. Previously, the rush would start about two to three hours into the poll starting. 

Normally, the polling stations see a huge rush in the slums of Mumbai, but surprisingly this time, the high profile areas of Malabar Hill, Peddar Road, Juhu and Bandra saw a huge turnout. Celebrities were appealing to the voters to come out for voting.

This time, very few cases of missing names from the voters’ list and mismanagement of EVMs were reported, though the residents of Mahul did complain about their names being missing from the voters’ list. Election officials said that there were problems in the voters’ list as the residents had moved to the area recently and hence, their names may be in the new locality where they were had moved to.

First-time voters were curious to cast their votes. Shaista Sayyad, a resident of South Mumbai, said, “I will cast my vote for the progress of the nation and the fearless atmosphere in the country.” 

The Election Commission had made special arrangements for the differently able people to reach the polling booth. There were special vans to carry such people in wheelchairs. 

Senior citizens were allowed to vote without a queue, which made them happy. Shankarrao Kanase Patil, a senior citizen from Lalbaug, said that it was good that he didn’t have to wait in the queue.   

Mumbai South recorded 50.61% voters’ turnout, while the Mumbai South Central recorded 53.61% and Mumbai North Central and Mumbai North East witnessed 49.49%  and 54.30% respectively. Mumbai North West was 53.53% and Mumbai North had 57.76% voters turnout till 6 pm. 

Some prominent candidates from Mumbai are Poonam Mahajan contesting against Priya Dutt from Mumbai North Central. Milind  Deora (Mumbai South) is contesting against Arvind Sawant, Gajanan Kirtikar is contesting against Sanjay Nirupam from Mumbai North-West and Gopal Shetty, who is contesting against Bollywood actress Urmila Matondkar from Mumbai North.

In the Thane Lok Sabha seat, sitting Shiv Sena MP Rajan Vichare is contesting against NCP’s former parliamentarian Anand Paranjpe. In Bhiwandi seat of Thane district, sitting BJP MP Kapil Patil is pitted against Congress’ Suresh Tawre and in Palghar Lok Sabha seat, sitting MP Rajendra Gavit is contesting against Baliram Jadhav of the Bahujan Vikas Aghadi, an ally of the Congress-NCP.

​ ​

Related News