An honour for public servants in the State

ST Correspondent
Sunday, 19 May 2019

Bongirwar Public Service Excellence Awards conferred

Mumbai: Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis and Forest Minister Sudhir Mungantiwar on Saturday honoured people-centric, transparent public servants with the Arun Bongirwar Public Service Excellence Awards (ABPSEA).

The ABPSEA have been instituted from this year by the Arun Bongirwar Foundation (ABF), along with the Yashwantrao Chavan Academy of Development Administration (YASHADA), Government of Maharashtra.

The award ceremony took place at the YB Chavan Centre, Mumbai, in the presence of ABF President Lata Bongirwar, Jindal Group’s Sangita Jindal, luminaries, leaders and several stalwarts.

The award consists of Rs 1,00,000 each on behalf of the ABF, along with a certificate from ABF and  YASHADA. 

The Arun Bongirwar Excellence Award was conferred on Additional Principal Chief Conservator of Forests (Mangrove Cell) N Vasudevan; Superintendent of Police (Kolhapur) Abhinav Dilip Deshmukh; Block Education Officer (Bhamragad, Gadchiroli district) Ashwini Krishnarao Sonavane; Nagpur Municipal Commissioner Abhijit Bangar and Deputy Conservator of Forest Jitendra Ramgaokar.

Lauding the late Arun Bongirwar as a public servant, Fadnavis said, “Arun Bongirwar was not merely an officer. He was an independent ‘pattern’ in the public administration. He was people-centric, transparent and had a positive mindset. He was not only an idol for numerous government officers but left his mark through his work as an ideal officer. His contribution to building the State is unmatched. He created the pattern of giving precedence to people instead of throwing around his weight.” 

May 19 is the birth anniversary of Bongirwar. Hence, outstanding officials will be felicitated on this day every year.

​ ​

Related News