Govt may split 4 districts

Panduranga Mhaske
Thursday, 8 February 2018

Plan to split Pune, Ahmednagar, Nashik, Buldhana districts under consideration.

Mumbai: The State government is considering a plan to split four large districts, Ahmednagar, Pune, Nashik and Buldhana, according to sources from the Revenue Department. As per the plan, Pune will be divided into two and the new district will be called Baramati. Baramati, Bhigvan, Indapur and adjacent areas will included in the new district.

Meanwhile, Ahmednagar will divided into South and North Ahmednagar, where North Ahmednagar will be the new district. As per sources, Sangamner, Rahuri, Shirdi and other parts of North Ahmednagar will be included in the new district, with Shirdi as the headquarters. There is a lot of government land acquired for other purposes that can be used for building the headquarter premises and other allied offices. The division of Nashik and Buldhana is proposed on similar lines.

The State government had earlier appointed a committee to review and study the proposal of division of these districts. The committee submitted its report with recommendations to the Revenue Department. Revenue Minister Chandrakant Patil confirmed that the committee has submitted its report and said, “We will study the report and its recommendations. We will decide on the report after the budget session.”

“Pune, Ahmednagar, Nashik and Buldhana are big districts as per area and it is not feasible for people residing in one corner of the district to travel to the district headquarters. So, we are thinking positively about the proposal,” said Patil. 
The division of these districts became a political issue due to the large area and population. In fact, there have been demands to trifurcate the revenue and land record administration of Pune, Ahmednagar and Nashik. The split will also redraw the political map of the region as the assembly seats may reduce or increase in these districts. 

“Citizens, especially the tribal population, can benefit more than politicians as implementation of welfare schemes can now be more focused, according to the needs of the new districts,” said an official from the Revenue Department. Ex-minister and BJP leader Babanrao Pachpute said, “The division will balance the development of the districts.”
Thane was the last district to be split in 2004, when Palghar district was created. Earlier, Bhandara-Gondiya and Hingoli were split in 1995.

​ ​

Related News