BJP and Shiv Sena face rebels, workers’ anger

Saturday, 5 October 2019

Vinod Tawde said, “Our party culture is nation first, party second and me last.”

MUMBAI: On the last day of filing nominations for the Assembly polls in the State,  the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)-Shiv Sena alliance faced the heat from angry leaders. Both parties witnessed large scale protests from rebels in Mumbai and across the state.

At Ghatkopar, BJP workers were angry over denial of ticket to sitting MLA and ex-minister Prakash Mehta. The BJP is fielding corporator Parag Shaha from Ghatkopar-East. The party workers gathered at Mehta’s home. When Shaha went to meet him before filing his nomination, the workers blocked the road and damaged Shaha’s car. 

They demanding that the ticket should be given to Mehta. Finally Mehta requested them to be calm and allow Shaha to file the nomination form. Mehta had recommended Shaha for BMC election and the party gave the Assembly seat ticket to Shaha, which angered the workers.

In Borivali, minister Vinod Tawde was denied the ticket, which went to Sunil Rane. BJP workers opposed Rane’s candidature. They  gathered at the BJP office at Borivali and raised slogans against Rane. 

Finally, Tawde appealed to them through the social media and said that the the party’s decision is final. Tawde said, “Our party culture is nation first, party second and me last.” 

“So I am ready to accept the party’s decision and will accept the responsibility which the party will give me,” added Tawde.

Shiv Sena corporator Rajul Patel also filed her nomination as independent candidate against BJP’s Bharati Lavekar. “I am filing the nomination in protest, as the party chief had assured me of the ticket,” said Patel.

In Bandra-West where the Shiv Sena chief resides, Trupti Sawant, Shiv Sena MLA filed her nomination as an independent against Mayor Vishwanath Mahadeshwar.  Trupti is wife of Bala Sawant, a close associate of Balasaheb Thackeray. After Bala Sawant’s sudden demise in 2015, the Shiv Sena fielded Trupti against Narayan Rane in a by-election and she won.

​ ​

Related News