Top class TT action starts from Friday

Sports Reporter
Tuesday, 2 October 2018

Asiad and CWG medallists Sharath Kamal and Manika Batra on show

Pune: Host of Asian Games and Commonwealth Games medallists and over 1000 paddlers will be in action as Shiv Chhatrapati Sports Complex in Balewadi is set for Table Tennis festival--the National Ranking West Zone TT championship from October 5 to 11.

Top-ranked men’s and women’s players Sharath Kamal and Manika Batra will lead the field that also includes Harmeet Desai, Anthony Amalraj, Sanil Shetty, Madhurika Patkar, Suthirtha Mukherjee, Mouma Das, Pooja Sahasrabuddhe Koparkar, Swastika Ghosh, Diya Chitale, Radhika Sakpal and others.

This West Zone event is titled “Sudesh Shelar Memorial” and is organised by the Sudesh Shelar Memorial Foundation Team jointly with Deccan Gymkhana under the aegis of the Table Tennis Federation of India (TTFI).

“This is the highest prize money tournament in India at this level. The total prize money including of scholarship amount is Rs.12.50 lakh,” informed Rajesh Shelar, the Tournament Director. 

While Rs 7.5 lakh is prize money and Rs 5 lakh will be scholarship given to 10 budding players each getting Rs 40,000 from the Sudesh Shelar Memorial Foundation.

The finals for Senior and Youth will be held on Tuesday October 9, while Junior finals are slated for October 10 and the Sub-Junior & Cadet finals on Thursday, October 11.

The tournament will see players participating in Under-12, U-15, U-18, U-21 and Senior Open Men and Women’s events with quarterfinalists onward getting cash awards for all the categories.

Related News