Title hunters CSK bask in IPL glory

Amol Gokhale
Monday, 28 May 2018

Shane Watson’s unbeaten century guides Chennai Super Kings to their third IPL crown, after thumping Sunrisers Hyderabad.

Mumbai: Exactly 50 days ago, Chennai Super Kings marked their Indian Premier League comeback after serving two-year suspension with a remarkable victory against Mumbai Indians at the Wankhede Stadium on April 7.

On May 27, at the same venue, they completed their fairytale journey by thrashing Sunrisers Hyderabad by 8-wickets to lift their third IPL crown.

The best bowling side in the league was hammered all around the park as Shane Watson scored a smashing unbeaten century, his second of the season, to make mockery of 179 run target set by the Sunrisers.

The classy knock from the former Australian international became the highest individual score in the IPL finals, an innings which was laced with 11 fours and 8 sixes. His accelaration pushed SRH bowlers on a back-foot.

Watson’s blitzkrieg
Chasing the challenging total of 179, Chennai failed to make best of starts as they lost the hero of Qualifier 1, Faf du Plessis, for mere 10 on the last ball of the fourth over.

Prior to that, Shane Watson had taken 10 deliveries to get off the mark as Bhuvaneshwar Kumar had started the innings with a maiden over. CSK remained just in the hunt reaching 35/1 at the end of the powerplay.

The match effectively changed in the 7th and 9th overs of the match bowled by Siddarth Kaul as Watson and Raina scored 16 runs each in those two overs.

The 36-year-old all-rounder reached his fifty in 33 balls as Raina played the role of a perfect partner, keeping the scoreboard ticking. In the 14th over, the duo brought up a 100-run partnership in which Raina’s contribution was 31 runs.

Best bowling unit?
The Sunrisers Hyderabad bowling is considered as the best bowling unit in the league, but on Sunday they had an off day when it mattered the most.

Rashid Khan, who single-handedly won SRH the Qualifier 2 against Kolkata Knight Riders failed to pick up any wicket in his four overs, while apart from Bhuvaneshwar, who gave just 17 runs in his four overs, rest of the bowlers leaked runs.
SRH’s collective effort

Earlier, Sunrisers put up a respectable total on the board once again courtesy of their skipper Kane Williamson. The Kiwi batsman, who finished as the leading run scorer of the tournament with 735 runs, played the anchor role.

He knocked 47 off 36 balls with five fours and two sixes, until he was stumped by MS Dhoni off Karn Sharma, who replaced Harbhajan Singh in CSK side.

Yusuf Pathan (45 off 25) and Carlos Brathwaite (21 off 11) then smashed a few lusty blows in the closing stages to help the Hyderabad put up a decent score of 178/6.

But the chase eventually proved to be a cakewalk for the Chennai Super Kings as they joined Mumbai Indians as the most successful side in the tournament having previously won the title in 2010 and 2011, completing their fairy journey in the league.

Sunrisers Hyderabad: Shreevats Goswami run out (Karn Sharma) 5 (5b), Shikhar Dhawan b Ravindra Jadeja 26 (25b, 2x4, 1x6), Kane Williamson st MS Dhoni b Karn Sharma 47 (36b, 5x4, 2x6), Shakib Al Hasan c Suresh Raina b Dwayne Bravo 23 (15b, 2x4, 1x6), Yusuf Pathan (Not out) 45 (25b, 4x4, 2x6), Deepak Hooda c sub (Shorey) b Ngidi 3 (4b), Carlos Brathwaite c Ambati Rayudu b Shardul Thakur 21 (11b, 3x6).
Extras (nb-1, w- 6, lb-1) 8.
Total (6 wickets; 20 overs) 178.
Fall of wickets: 1-13, 2-64, 3-101, 4-133, 5-144, 6-178.
Bowling: Deepak Chahar 4-0-25-0, Lungi Ngidi 4-1-26-1, Shardul Thakur 3-0-31-1, Karn Sharma 3-0-25-1, Dwayne Bravo 4-0-46-1, Ravindra Jadeja 2-0-24-1.
Chennai Superkings: Shane Watson (not out) 117 (57b, 11x4, 8x6), Faf du Plessis c & b Sandeep Sharma 10 (11b, 2x4), Suresh Raina c Shreevats Goswami b Carlos Brathwaite 32 (24b, 3x4, 1x6), Ambati Rayudu (not out) 17 (19b, 1x4, 1x6).
Extras (w-3, lb-2) 5.
Total (2 wickets; 18.3 overs) 181.
Fall of wickets: 1-16, 2-133.
Bowling: Bhuvneshwar Kumar 4-1-17-0, Sandeep Sharma 4-0-52-1, Siddarth Kaul 3-0-43-0, Rashid Khan 4-0-25-0, Shakib Al Hasan 1-0-15-0, Carlos Brathwaite 2.3-0-27-1.

Related News