Thalaivas tame Paltan 36-31

Jigar Hindocha
Wednesday, 24 October 2018

Ajay Thakur and Jasvir Singh help Thalaivas secure a victory after 5 defeats

Pune: After five matches, Tamil Thalaivas clicked as a team to outplay home team Puneri Paltan 36-31 in the Pro Kabaddi League Season 6 match at Balewadi Sports Complex, badminton hall on Tuesday.

It was the second victory of the season for the Chennai based team who had last tasted victory on the first day of the league - October 7.

For Thalaivas, the experienced trio Ajay Thakur, Jasvir Singh and Sukesh Hegde scored 24 points between them while another senior member of the team Manjeet Chhillar collected four points.

For Pune, Captain Girish Erank failed to score a single point in defence and it affected Pune badly.

Tamil Thalaivas managed to ‘All Out’ Pune twice but the home team were not able to force ‘All Out’ over the opponents even once.

Pune started slowly while Thalaivas started collecting points in tandem right from the start. Sukesh who was playing the first match of the season added much needed energy to the Thalaivas by scoring important points in crunch moments.

In the last five minutes, Pune came close to Thalaivas total but could not race ahead as their raiders failed to score points.

U Mumba thrashes Titans
Inflicting three ‘All Out’ over Telugu Titans helped U Mumba to complete a convincing 41-20 victory in the first match of the day.

For the Mumbai outfit, it was Siddharth Desai, who once again led from the front, scoring 17 points while he got good support from captain and defender Fazel Atrachali who scored four points in defence.
For Telugu Titans, their star player, Rahul Chaudhari scored seven points while his other team mates failed to impress. 

For Rahul, it turned out to be memorable day as he became the first raider to reach the 700 point mark in Pro Kabaddi League.

Match 1: U Mumba 41 (Siddharth Desai 17, Fazel Atrachali 4, Darshan Kadian 3) bt Telugu Titans 20 (Rahul Chaudhari 7, Farhad Milaghardan 4, Armaan 2)
Best Defender: Fazel Atrachali (4 points U Mumba)
Best Raider: Siddharth Desai (17 points, U mumba)
Match 2: Tamil Thalaivas 36 (Ajay Thakur 12, Jasvir Singh 8, Sukesh Hegde 4) bt Puneri Paltan 31 (GB More 10, Nitin Tomar 8, Ravi Kumar 4)
Best Defender: Ravi Kumar (4 points, Puneri Paltan)
Best Raider: GB More (13 points, Puneri Paltan)

Related News