St Vincent’s takes home title

Sports Reporter
Tuesday, 21 August 2018

Brace from Bhargav Sawant did the trick as St Vincent’s crush Millennium School.

Pune: St Vincent’s School came out with a dominating performance to clinch Under-14 Subroto Mukherjee Cup Qualifiers Tournament defeating Millennium National School 4-0 at the PDFA Ground in Dobarwadi here on Monday.

After a goalless 20 minutes, Davin Lobo set up the first goal for St Vincent’s, which was netted by Aarya Walia in the 26th minute. Three minutes later, Bhargav Sawant made it 2-0 for Vincent’s, which was assisted by Prajwal Patne. With Vincent’s controlling the game from there onwards, Prajwal got a second opportunity to score and he found the net off a pass given by Ashish Chopda in the 36th minute to give Vincent’s 3-0 lead. 

Millennium boys had few chances in the middle but they failed to score as Vincent’s boys were too strong in their defence. Harsh Jagdale added one more to Vincent’s tally, scoring a goal in the 40th minute to complete a stunning victory to lift the title.

In the third place position match, an early goal from Arjit Sharma in the eighth minute, helped Army Public School to secure a 1-0 victory over Loyola High School, Pashan.

Final: St Vincent’s School 4 (Aarya Walia 26th, Bhargav Sawant 29th, 36th, Harsh Jagdale 40th) bt Millennium National School 0.
Third place: Army Public School 1 (Arjit Sharma 8th) bt Loyola School 0.

Related News