Rajiv Sethu pips Jagan Kumar for a double

Sports Reporter
Monday, 9 July 2018

The double win took Sethu to the top of the championship standings with 70 points.

CHENNAI: Local lad Rajiv Sethu of Idemitsu Honda Ten10 Racing ended the weekend on a high by achieving a double in the premier Super Sport Indian 165cc class as the second round of the MRF MMSC fmsci Indian National Motorcycle Racing Championship concluded at the MMRT here on Sunday.

Sethu scored another win over National champion Jagan Kumar of TVS Racing who, after leading for much of the eight-lap race, yielded ground and finished second ahead of Honda’s Sarath Kumar. The double win took Sethu to the top of the championship standings with 70 points.

Also scoring wins on Sunday were Kozhikode’s Amarnath Menon, who led a 1-2 finish for Gusto Racing in the Pro-Stock 301-400cc class, Naresh Babu of RACR (Pro-Stock 165cc) and Karthik Mateti. who headed a Sparks Racing podium sweep in the Novice category, while also setting a lap record in this class.

(8 laps unless mentioned)
Super Sport Indian (165cc):
Race 2: 1. Rajiv Sethu (Idemitsu Honda Ten 10 Racing) 15mins, 37.026sec; 2. Jagan Kumar (TVS Racing) 15:40.465; 3. Sarath Kumar (Idemitsu Honda Ten 10 Racing) 15:57.911.
Pro-Stock (165cc):
Race 2: 1. Naresh Babu (RACR) 16:57.586; 2. Anish D Shetty (Idemitsu Honda Ten 10 Racing) 17:03.115; 3. Senthil Kumar (Idemitsu Honda Ten 10 Racing) 17:07.286.
Pro-Stock (301-400cc):
Race 2: 1. Amarnath Menon K (Gusto Racing India) 15:37.673; 2. Sathyanarayana Raju (Gusto Racing India) 15:38.943; 3. Prabhu Arunagiri (Team Alisha Abdullah) 15:39.216.
Novice (Stock 165cc, 6 laps): 1. Karthik Mateti (Sparks Racing) 13:01.676; 2. Aditya Rao I (Sparks Racing) 13.04.384; 3. Alexander AS (Sparks Racing) 13:04.663.

Idemitsu Honda India Talent Cup:
Open (CBR 250cc) Race 2: 1. Anish Shetty (Bengaluru) 16:48.671; 2. Abhishek Vasudev (Bengaluru) 16:49.460; 3. Amit Richard Toppo (Ranchi) 16:49.692.
Novice (CBR 150cc) Race 2 (6 laps): 1. Mohamed Mikail (Chennai) 13:23.224; 2. Kritik Vasan Habib (Karnataka) 13:34.011; 3. Akshay V Murali (Kerala) 13:47.298.

TVS One-Make Championship:
Open (Apache R310) Race 2: 1. Vivek Pillai (Chennai) 16:21.188; 2. Deepak Ravikumar (Chennai) 16:21.244; 3. Yashas RL (Bengaluru) 16:30.900.

Novice (Apache 200) Race 2 (6 laps): 1. Karthik Mateti (Hyderabad) 13:37.283; 2. Venkatesan (Chennai) 13:50.679; 3. Alexander AS (Chennai) 13:50.726.

Related News