Punjab, Chandigarh record second wins

Sakal Times
Saturday, 3 February 2018

Punjab outplayed Rajasthan team scoring five goals in each half to lead Pool A with six points. It turned out to be another big loss for Rajasthan, who lost their opener to Odisha 3-14.

NEW DELHI: Riding high on Surdarshan Singh’s five goals, Punjab  hammered  Rajasthan 10-1  while Chandigarh battled it out to pip Uttar Pradesh 2-1 for  their second successive wins in the Boys hockey competition of the Khelo India School Games at the Major Dhyan Chand National Stadium, New Delhi on Friday.

In the other matches Haryana surprised favourite Odisha 2-1 and Karnataka beat Delhi 3-2.

Punjab outplayed Rajasthan team scoring five goals in each half to lead Pool A with six points. It turned out to be another big loss for Rajasthan, who lost their opener to Odisha 3-14.

Rajasthan  protected  their citadel well for first fifteen minutes but once Surdarshan  breached their defence in the 16th minute, things went awry. Besides Surdarshan’s five goal blitz, other scorers  for the winners  were Jaspreet Singh (2), Rahul, Agyapal Singh, and Sarbjot Singh (one each). For the losers Chetan Suthar scored the lone goal.

In Pool B, Chandigarh found the going tough against Uttar Pradesh. Hashim put  Chandigarh ahead in the 13th minute when he scored off a penalty corner and five minutes later Rahul converted another penalty corner to make it 2-0. Rattled Uttar Pradesh went  on the offensive but had to wait till 64th minute to reduce the margin through Suraj Singh.

Earlier in the day in Pool A, Odisha suffered a rude jolt as they lost to  Haryana 1-2. All  the goals came in the fast paced first half with Haryana taking the lead in the 21st minute through  Rimanshu. Four minutes later Pankaj (Jr) score a superb goal to make it 2-0.

Odisha rallied well and pulled one back as Sudeep Chirmako found the target just before the half time. In second half all attempts by Odisha to score came to naught as  Haryana crowded their defence  and protected  the lead. 

In Pool B, Karnataka  staged a  fine rally to beat  Delhi 3-2  to record  their  first win in two match.  For Delhi , who failed to hold on to lead twice in the match, it  was their second successive defeat. For Karnataka Chetan,Ganesh and Yashwanth chipped in with one goal each. Sushil and Rakesh scored for the losers.

Even as the more fancied names in the girls 10m air rifle event fell by the wayside, Zeena Khitta (DAV Senior Secondary School, Chandigarh), Nandita Sul (B.R. Gholap College, Pune) and Yana Rathore (Emerald Heights International School, Indore) soared to the podium at the Dr. Karni Singh Shooting Ranges. 

In the boys event, Shahu Mane (St. Xavier’s High School, Kolhapur), Rithik Ramesh (Kendriya Vidyalaya, Ashok Nagar, Chennai) and Parth Makhija (Manav Sthali School, New Delhi) claimed honours after a gripping final round where tension got the better of some others.

In the final elimination round of the girls’ event, Zeena took command of the proceedings with the first set of five shots (53.3) and never looked back though Nandita Sul (51.6) tried to chase her down.

After 24 shots, which included a couple of near-perfect 10.8s (15th & 17th shots), Zeena clinched gold by a comfortable margin of 1.9 points. The gold medal will boost her confidence going into the ISSF Junior World Cup in March in Sydney.    

An intense contest unfolded between Yana and Bhargavi D Kasar (Ramnarain Ruia Junior College, Mumbai) after two sets of five shots each, the lone shooter from MP was trailing by 0.3 points. 

But Yana turned the contest around with 10.8s on her 13th, 14th and 15th shots to establish a lead of 0.8 points. At this stage she tied with Nandita at an identical score of 165.4. 

Then Nandita scored 10.4 and 10.8 with her 17th and 18th shots to pull ahead into second place.

Pool  A: Haryana 2 (Rimanshu, Pankaj) beat Odisha 1 (Sudeep Chirmako);  Punjab 10 (Surdarshan Singh (5), Jaspreet (2) Rahul, Agyapal, Sarbjot  Singh) bt Rajasthan 1 (Chetan Suthar.)
Pool B: Chandigarh 2 (Hashim, Rahul)  bt  Uttar Pradesh 1 (Suraj Singh); Karnataka 3 (M.K.Chethan, Majji Ganesh, K.M. Yashwanth) bt Delhi 2 (Sushil, Rakesh).

Related News