Pune swimmer Shalmali wins 2-km race

Sports Reporter
Tuesday, 27 March 2018

Final day of the 8th Goa Swimathon dominated by swimmers from Thane

Panji: Pune swimmer Shalmali Walujkar won the 2-km race in the women’s category at the 8th Goa Swimathon,  even as swimmers from Thane dominated the final day’s proceedings at the 8th Goa Swimathon held at the Bambolim Bay on Sunday.

The Thane swimmers bagged nine out of the possible 18 podium finishes in the 250 metres, one kilometre and 2-km races.
Shubham Pawar of Thane won the 1-km and 250 metres race on Sunday, while coming a close second in the 10-kms race on Saturday. Goa too had something to cheer when Tanayaa Parashar won the first place in the women’s one km race, while Subhash Gogi won the third place in the 250 metres race. 
K Vijay Kumar (34) a visually impaired swimmer from Bengaluru also won many hearts when he successfully finished the one km race.

The event organised by Enduro Sports Goa in association with the NRB Group (1930 Vasco) witnessed the participation of a record 300 swimmers from across Goa, India and overseas taking part this year.

2-km: 1. Surojit Chatterjee (Jabalpur) 32:13; 2. Parth Tawari (Raipur) 32:27; 3. Yash Sonak (Thane) 33:36.
1-km: 1. Shubham Pawar (Mumbai) 17:40; 2. Omkar Kulkarni (Thane) 19:06; 3. Saish Chougule (Kolhapur) 19:35.
Adults: 1. Shubham Pawar (Thane) 3:39; 2. Anubhav Mishra (Kanpur) 4:16; 3. Subhash Gogi (Goa)  4:22.
Under-18: 1. Yash Sonak (Thane) 3:47; 2. Om Jondhale (Thane) 3:52; 3. Neel Vaidya (Pen) 3:55.
2-km: 1. Shalmali Walujkar (Pune) 32:37; 2. Sanika Tapkir (Thane) 36:12; 3. Srushti Kadam (Thane) 43:53.
1-km:1. Tanayaa Parashar (Goa) 23:02; 2. Jaiee Zinge (Thane) 23:09; 3. Isha Shinde (Thane) 23:13.

Related News