Noah, Tanveer tie in MRF Rally of Coimbatore

Sports Reporter
Tuesday, 31 July 2018

TVS puts up a dominating show as championship leader R Natraj completes top 3

Pune: National Supercross championship leader Harith Noah broke the monopoly of his teammate and defending champion R Natraj in his first attempt this season in the 2W Rally championship, in the fifth and penultimate round of the MRF MoGrip FMSCI National two-wheeler rally championship, in Coimbatore on Sunday.

Riding the powerful TVS RTR 450, Noah tied with teammate Abdul Wahid Tanweer clocking 47 minutes 33 seconds forcing the organisers to apply tie-break rule.
Noah had clocked the fastest time in Stage 1, which earned him the title.

“The route was very challenging and I enjoyed riding the stages,” said Noah. “This is one of the best event I have taken part in,” he added.

The Stages stretched to a total distance of 111.11-km with the Special Stages covering 56-km. This time around there were two Special Stages-the Black Thunder Stage (14.85-km) and the Thunder World Stage (14.45-km).

Nataraj, who won all four opening rounds in his Superbike Pro Expert Class, but for Rajendra RE upstaging him in Pune for the overall title, came overall third in a time of 49 minutes 09 seconds.

Pinkesh wins in scooter

Pune-based Pinkesh Thakkar upstaged the applecart of TVS Racing’s Asif Ali by winning the Scooter class for Aprilia Racing on his Aprilia SR150.

Aprilia SR150 had a good outing in the wind mill area as they acquired two places on the podium with Zeeshan Sayyed coming in third. Syed Asif Ali, riding TVS NTORQ finished second.

Palakkad-based U Fazeela won the ladies title in the absence of championship leader Aishwarya Pissay, who took break after sustaining injury in BAJA Aragon.

Aishwarya is overwhelmingly leading the championship with a tally of 100 points.



Important results:

Class 1 (Superbike ProExpert): 1. Harith Noah (TVS Racing, RTR 450FX) 47:33, 2. Abdul Wahid Tanveer (TVS Racing, RTR 450FX) 47:33; 3. R Nataraj (TVS Racing, RTR 450FX) 49:09.

Class 1A: 1. Badal Doshi (Mumbai, Honda CRF 450); 2. Jatin Jain (Nagpur, Husqvarna FE450); 3. Aakash Aital (Puthur).

Class 3: 1. Imran Pasha (TVS Racing, TVS RTR 160); 2. V Thirinesh (Bengaluru); 3. Sachin D (Bengaluru, Hero Impulse).

Class 4: 1. Rajendra RE (TVS Racing, RTR200); 2. Samuel Jacob (TVS Racing, RTR200); 3. Jeeva Rathinam (Bengaluru).

Related News