NBA picks 66 as 18 Indian girls and 7 boys make cut for 4-day camp

Kirti Patil
Saturday, 26 May 2018

Hoopsters from 16 countries and territories to feature in 10th BWB Asia Camp

Pune: Twenty-five young Indian hoopsters, 18 girls and 7 boys, have been selected to be part of 16-country exclusive camp being hosted in India jointly by the iconic American sports body, the National Basketball Association (NBA), the International Basketball Federation (FIBA) and the Basketball Federation of India (BFI).

The 10th edition of Basketball Without Borders (BWB) Asia will see 66 boys and girls from Asia-Pacific region coming to India for the second time in 10 years to train with NBA legends Corey Brewer (Oklahoma City Thunder), Caris LeVert (Brooklyn Nets), Canadians Kelly Olynyk (Miami Heat) and Dwight Powell (Dallas Mavericks), two-time WNBA Champion Ruth Riley, and former WNBA player Ebony Hoffman.

The top high school Under-17 campers from the Asia-Pacific region are part of the NBA and FIBA’s global basketball development and community outreach program with Nike as the official partner.

BWB Asia 2018 will feature two current prospects from NBA Academies, the league’s elite player development initiative comprising a network of elite basketball training centers around the world from outside the United States.

Since October 2016, NBA Academies have been launched in Canberra, Jinan, Urumqi and Zhuji in China; Delhi NCR, Mexico and Thies, Senegal.

Players and coaches will lead the campers through a variety of activities on and off the court, including movement efficiency, positional skill development, shooting and skills competitions, 5-on-5 games, and daily life skills seminars focusing on health, leadership and communication.

At the end of the four-day camp, one boy and one girl will be named BWB Asia 2018 MVPs.

BWB Asia 2018 will be preceded by a basketball development camp for 18 Indian girls as part of The NBA Academies Women’s Program, from May 27-29. The 1996 Atlanta Olympic Gold Medalist and Women’s Basketball Hall of Famer Jennifer Azzi, Riley and former college coach Blair Hardiek-the global technical directors for women’s programming across the league’s seven academies-will oversee the camp.

NBA Academy India
The NBA Academy India is an elite basketball training center in Delhi NCR for the top male and female prospects from throughout India and the first of its kind in the country, officially opened in May 2017.

In April 2017, the NBA launched The NBA Basketball School, a network of tuition-based basketball development programs for players in age category 6-18. NBA Basketball Schools have been launched in Mumbai, New Delhi, Pune and Punjab as part of a multiyear agreement.

NBA Champion Kevin Durant became the first active NBA player to visit The NBA Academy India in July 2017.

The participants:
Girls: Paige Price, Lauren Wise and Indiah Bowyer (all Australia); Guanpeng Liu, Meiya Yuan, Jianjun Gao, Ziqi Tang and Dan Zhao (all China); Khushi Ahlawat, Riya Baliyan, Priyanka Behal, Siya Deodhar, Rajvai Desai, Khushi Dongre, Monica Jayakumar, Anmariya Johny, Sunishka Kartik, Neha Karva, Grishma Niranjan, Sanjana Ramesh, Radha Rani, Sreekala Rani, Pushpa Senthil Kumar, Asmat Taunque, Vaishnavi Yadav and Ann Mary Zacariah (all India).
Boys: Clancy Bird, Joshua Giddey, Daniel Foster, Lachlan Bofinger and Kian Dennis (all Australia); Yonghao Wu, Yuanxin Li, Chao Wu and Zhiyao Zhang (all China), Chiang-Shuang Chen and Chien-Hao Ma (both Chinese Taipei); Lam Anson (Hong Kong); Princepal Singh, Amaan Sandhu, Prashant Tomar, Harprett Singh, Priyanshu, Harshwardhan Tomar and Pritish Kokate (all India); Darryl Sebastian (Indonesia); Mohammad Vahedi, Amir Aliyari and Matin Aghajanpour (all Iran); Kaiga Matsuo, Shintaro Ehara and Keijiro Mitani (all Japan); Vassiliy Belozor (Kazakhstan); Marc Khoueiry and Andre Tannoury (both Lebanon); Tang Jun Kai John (Malaysia); Taine Murray, Samuel Jenkins, Ezekiel Stallworth and Mac Stodart (all New Zealand); Rence Padrigao and Raven Cortez (both Philippines); Reuben Faustino (Singapore); Jeong Hyeon Moon and Minsuk Cha (both South Korea); Master Tanawat (Thailand).

Related News