Nande strikes as Orchid School wins

Sports Reporter
Thursday, 2 August 2018

Parikshita Nande from The Orchid School scored the lone goal for her team in the 22nd minute

Pune: The Orchid School, Baner defeated City International School, Kothrud 1-0 in the girls Under-17 battle of the Subroto Cup football tournament being played at Don Bosco High School, Yerwada on Wednesday.

Parikshita Nande from The Orchid School scored the lone goal for her team in the 22nd minute.

In another match, St Mary’s High School beat Matoshree English Medium School 6-0 to advance further. Jiya Sundaram from St Mary’s was in good form as she scored an hattrick in the 2nd, 5th and 23rd minutes while Jahra Unwalla added two goals to the tally in the 8th and 29th minutes followed by Anushka Sahaay who scored one in the 19th minute.

Also registering a win was Don Bosco High School who beat Vikhe Patil Memorial School 3-0 in the tie-breaker after no goals were scored at regulation time.

In the tie-breaker, Uda Jod, Shirley Rasundaram and Sandra Patole scored for Don Bosco while Yamini Hingorani, Riya Nagraj and Poornima Gahlot missed their goal scoring opportunity for Vikhe Patil.

Meanwhile Vidya Bhavan High School, Model Colony got past Army Public School, Race Course with the score of 1-0. 

In the boys Under-17  second round battle, Pune Police Public School defeated DES Secondary School, Tilak Road 2-0. Sahil Sakpal (18th) and Adarsh Mache (24th) scored for Pune Police Public School.

Gurukul High School got the better of Bharati Vidyapeeth, Dhankawadi 3-0 while Anglo Urdu Boys High School defeated Bharatiya Vidya Bhavan Sulochana Natu Vidya Mandir 1-0.

In another action, Range Hills Secondary School defeated Kothari National School, Kondhwa 2-0. 

Neeraj Mane from Range Hills Secondary School scored the first goal while Saurabh Bavdhane scored the second goal when his shot made it to the nets in the 29th minute.

Boys: Round 2: Pune Police Public School 2 (Sahil Sapkal 18th, Adarsh Mache 24th) bt DES Secondary School, Tilak Road 0; Gurukul High School 3 (Yashodhan Dharmadikari 7th, Siddharth Joshi 17th, Shail Hundekar 26th) bt Bharati Vidyapeeth, Dhankawadi 0; Anglo Urdu Boys High School 1 (Smith Rai 25th) bt Vidya Bhavan Sulochana Natu Vidya Mandir 0; Range Hills Secondary School 2 (Neeraj Mane 18th, Saurabh Baavdhane 29th) bt Kothari National School, Kondhwa 0; Delhi Public School, Mohammedwadi 5 (Malhar Harer 5th, 12th, Allan Binoy 8th, Jaskaivar Bhatti 19th,Pravart Srivastav 26th) bt St Paul School.
Girls: Don Bosco High School 0 (Tiebreaker: Uda Jod, shirley Rasundaram, Sandra Patole) bt Vikhe Patil Memorial School, Lohegaon 0 (Tiebreaker: Yamini Hingorani, Riya Nagraaj, Poornima Gahlot: missed); The Orchid School, Baner 1 (Parikshita Nande 22nd) bt City International School, Kothrud 0; St Mary’s High School 6 (Jiya Sundaram 2nd,5th, 23rd, Jahra Unwala 8th, 29th,Anushka Sahai 19th) bt Matoshree English Medium School 0.

Related News