Jinan gives Ang’ata head start after TVS ’s Noah crashes

Sakal Times
Monday, 16 April 2018

Minor lapse of concentration blots defending champion Harith Noah’s perfect start leading to a crash with teammate Abdul Waheed Tanweer in Moto 2

Fatorda: Harith Noah’s slight error of judgment while landing over a double jump cost him a podium finish in Goa, the land where he made his return to National Supercross scene in 2017 after a few years of sabbatical even as Thrissur rider CD Jinan upped the ante in the Round 2 of the 19th MRF MoGrip-FMSCI National Supercross championship here on Sunday.

Noah was well up to the task as he won the Moto 1 in Foreign Open class, almost unchallenged, to pocket full 20 points, but in the final race of the afternoon Noah’s luck came to challenge him when he tried to pass his teammate Tanweer and crash landed onto him just ahead of the cut table top.

As the two lie in a heap for a few seconds two riders flew over them and miraculously avoided getting into the mess before Noah, who had fallen safely out of the dirt track, got up and helped Tanweer out who was sandwiched between the two bikes.

That cost Noah some crucial time, which he was unable to close in, in the remaining laps and finished sixth to earn 11 points. Staying clear of the melee, ES Saijith won Moto 2 to log 20 points, but Jinan became the only rider in the recent past not to win any Moto but still win the overall title and the ‘Best driver’ award.

Ang’ata’s maiden win
Ang’ata Racing opened their account with ‘Best Rider’ trophy for Jinan, who chanced on the trail of crashes to win the overall title in Foreign Open Class.

TVS Racing’s Pune rider Rugved Barguje had a horrible race as he finished fourth in both motos earning 13 points from 13 finishes. Nonetheless he boosted his overall standings to 50 points from two rounds for No 3 position behind Noah (70) and Jinan (54).

The maiden win for the UAE-based Indian owned Ang’ata Racing spiced up the championship with TVS Racing getting more challenge than in the past when the factory team virtually ruled the supercross course amidst the competitors in the form of privateers.

Mumbai’s Ajmera Racing too has made the contests lively as different team strategies adds more suspense to the races.
There was some cheer in TVS Racing when Rajendra RE won Class 2 Novice Group ahead of teammate Iran Pasha on newly-prepared TVS RTR bike that now donned black colour instead of blue.

“The response was fantastic despite hot and humid weather,” observed Shyam Kothari, the Director of Godspeed Racing, the promoters of National Supercross.

“Entry of two more teams is good for national supercross scene. It will attract more youngsters towards this sport,” said Kothari, himself 7-time national champion.

Yuvraj wins despite crash
Pune youngster and defending Junior champion Yuvraj Kondedeshmukh lost his balance on the course that became loose at certain points, but he was unstoppable and won the Class 3 Junior SX1 category ahead of fellow Pune rider Karan Karle and Bengaluru’s Prajwal V.

Today was little difficult day. There were a few crashes on the course and our team riders were involved in it. Luckily I was unscathed but my pace slowed down and other contenders took advantage of the situation forcing me to play the second fiddle.
— Rugved Barguje
(TVS Racing rider)

Class 1 SX1 Foreign Open Class Group A: 1. CD Jinan (Ang’ata Racing, Kawasaki KX250F) (15, 17) 32; 2. Javed Shaikh (Goa, Kawasaki KX250F) (17, 15) 32; 3. Saijith ES (Thrissur, Kawasaki KX250F) (10, 20) 30; 4. Harith Noah (TVS Racing, TVS RTR300) (20, 10) 30; 5. Rugved Barguje (TVS Racing, TVS RTR300) (13, 13) 26.
Overall (after 2 rounds, top 3): 1. Noah 70, 2. Jinan 54, 3. Rugved 50.
Class 2 Novice Group C: 1. Rajendra RE (TVS Racing, TVS RTR) 20; 2. Imran Pasha (TVS Racing, TVS RTR) 17; 3. Sachin D (Bengaluru, Hero Impulse) 15; 4. Murali CV (TVS Racing, TVS RTR) 13; 5. Vikram Sekhar (Coimbatore, Hero Impulse) 11.
Overall (after 2 rounds, top 3): 1. Rajendra 31, 2. Murali 30, 3. Kalimohan 20.
Class 3 Junior SX1 Group A/B/C/D: 1. Yuvraj Kondedeshmukh (Ajmera Racing, KTM SX85) 20; 2. Karan Karle (Pune, Honda CRF150) 16; 3. Prajwal V (Bengaluru, KTM SX85) 15; 4. Sarthak Chavan (Ang’ata Racing, Kawasaki KX) 14; 5. Shlok Ghorpade (Satara, KTM SX85) 11.
Overall (after 2 rounds, top 3): 1. Yuvraj 40, 2. Karan 33, 3. Sarthak 29.
Class 4 Locals Group B: 1. Mohammed Fazal Admani (Hero Impulse) 20; 2. Ankush Rao (Hero Impulse) 17; 3. Farhan Shaikh (TVS RTR) 15; 4. Saryesh Koregaonkar (Hero Impulse) 13.
Class 5 Indian Experts Group C: 1. R Natraj (TVS Racing, TVS RTR) 20; 2. Imran Pasha (TVS Racing, TVS RTR) 17; 3. Rajendra RE (TVS Racing, TVS RTR) 15; 4. Suhail Ahmed (Bengaluru, Hero Impulse) 13; 5. Jagdeesh Kumar (Coimbatore, Hero Impulse) 11.
Overall (after 2 rounds, top 3): 1. Natraj 40, 2. Imran 28, 3. Jagdeesh 28.
Class 6 Private Experts Group C: 1. Jagdeesh Kumar (Coimbatore, Hero Impulse) 20; 2.Suhail Ahmed (Bengaluru, Hero Impulse) 17; 3. Sachin D (Bengaluru, Hero Impulse) 15; 4. Karthikeyan (Coimbatore, Hero Impulse) 13; 5. Shahabuddin Syed (Goa, Hero Impulse) 11.
Class 7 SX2 Group A: 1. Saijith ES (Thrissur, Kawasaki KX250F) (20, 17) 37; 2. Prithvi Singh (Chandigarh, Kawasaki KX250) (15, 20) 35; 3. Mahesh VM (Ang’ata Racing, Kawasaki KX250) (17, 15) 32; 4. Sarath Mohan Kerala, Kawasaki) (13, 13) 26; 5.  MS Prince (Delhi, Yamaha YZ) (9, 11) 20.
Overall (after 2 rounds, top 3): 1. Mahesh 67; 2. Sajith 77, 3. Prithvi Singh 62.
Class 8 Junior SX2 Group A/B/C/D: 1. Sarthak Chavan (Ang’ata Racing, Kawasaki KX 100) 20; 2. Jinendra Sangaye (Ichalkaranji, KTM SX65) 16; 3.Shlok Ghorpade (Satara, Kawasaki) 14; 4. Chiranth V (Bengaluru, KTM SX85) 12; 5. Raheesh Khatri (Mumbai, KTM SX65) 11.
Overall (after 2 rounds, top 3): 1.Sarthak 40, 2. Jinendra 32, 3.Chiranth 23.

Related News