Income Tax, Hockey Lovers enter last 8

Sports Reporter
Thursday, 5 July 2018

Income Tax had it easy scoring a 9-0 win over Khadki-based Priyadarshini SC 9-0

Pune: Income Tax Department, Pune and Hockey Lovers booked last-8 berths, while PCMC XI sneaked through on better goal difference in the 7th Late Hussain Hockey Championship, at the Major Dhyan Chand Hockey Stadium, Pimpri here on Wednesday.

Income Tax had it easy scoring a 9-0 win over Khadki-based Priyadarshini SC 9-0 for their second win and topped Group-B with an unbeaten run. The victory was powered by a brace each by Nitin Kumar (8th, 26th) and Vikram Singh (40th, 42nd).

Later, in Group-F,, Hockey Lovers logged their second game in as many days by arresting Pune City Police 4-0 to move on. Jagdish Kasture (11th, 43rd), Ayub P (45th) and Kamlakar Gaikwad (46th) netted for the winners.

Both Income Tax and Hockey Lovers finished with 6 points each.

PCMC XI qualified on a better goal difference from Group-H. 

Kids XI who needed a huge margin to win did well to notch a 10-1 win over Khadki Education Society but fell short by 3 goals overall.

Both PCMC and Kids XI finished with 4 points (1 draw, 1 win) but the latter had a (+12) goal difference as compared to (+9) by Kids.   

Kids XI had Riyaz Qureshi (16th, 43rd), Sahabah Khan (10th, 40th); Rihwan Khan (22nd, 23rd) and Md. Sharik (38th, 39th) score a brace each.    

Group-F: Hockey Lovers: 4 (Jagdish Kasture 11th, 43rd; Ayub P 45th; Kamlakar Gaikwad 46th) b Pune City Police: 0. HT: 1-0.
Group-B: Income Tax Dept. Pune: 9 (Nitin Kumar 8th, 26th; Harjit Singh 9th; Ashish Chetty 12th; Suraj Shahi 17th; Ashutosh Lingesh 27th; Vikram Singh 40th, 42nd; Shaihtesh Kasture 45th) b  Priyadarshini SC, Khadki: 0. HT: 4-0
Group-H: Kids XI: 10 (Abhimandas Thakur 4th; Riyaz Qureshi 16th, 43rd; Sahabah Khan 10th, 40th; Rihwan Khan 22nd, 23rd; Md. Sharik 38th, 39th; Arif Qureshi 41st) b Khadki Education Society: 1 (Hitesh Kalyana 10th). HT: 5-1
Group-G: Railway Police: 4 (Sanket Sapkal 31st; Krishna Nipale 35th; Prithviraj Salunke 47th, 48th) b Mumbai Customs: 3 (Jayesh Jadhav 7th; Anuj S 40th; Mayur Patil 43rd). HT: 0-1.

Related News