Hada impresses with second podium

Sanjay Jadhav
Monday, 6 August 2018


SuperSport 600cc (Race-2, 16 laps): 1. Anthony West (Australia, Webike Kazuchi Racing, Yamaha) (27mins, 10.157secs); 2. Tomoyoshi Koyama (Japan, Musashi Boon Siew Honda Racing) (27:17.240); 3. Taiga Hada (Japan, Idemitsu Honda Racing India) (27:17.568).

Asia Production 250cc (Race-2, 12 laps): 1. Rafid Topan Sucipto (Indonesia, Yamalube KYT TJM WR Super Battery) (22:00:544); 2. Andy Muhammad Fadly (Indonesia, Manual Tech KYT Kawasaki Racing) (22:00.686); 3. Anupab Sarmoon (Thailand, Yamaha Thailand Racing Team) (22:00.830).

Underbone 150cc (Race-2): 1. Ahmad Fazli Sham (Malaysia, Onexox TKKR Racing) (18:59.247); 2. Md. Helmi Azman (Malaysia, SCK Rapido Hi Rev Honda Racing) (18:59.355); 3. Travis Hall (Australia, SCK Rapido Hi Rev Honda Racing Team) (19:03.008).

Idemitsu Honda India Talent Cup (CBR 250) (Race-1, 6 laps):  1. Abhishek Vasudev (Bengaluru) (12:18.230); 2. Senthil Kumar (Coimbatore) (12:18.792); 3. Aravind Balasubramaniam (Chennai) (12:18.891). Race 2 (8 laps): Aravind Balasubramaniam (Chennai) (16:31.817); 2. Senthil Kumar (Coimbatore) (16:32.049); 3. Amit Richard Topno (Ranchi) (16:33.190).

TVS One-Make Championship (Apache RR310) - Race 1 (6 laps): 1. Vivek Pillai (Chennai) (13:04.471); 2. Deepak Ravikumar (Chennai) (13:06.967); 3. Peddu Sriharsha (Hyderabad) (13:06.968). Race 2 (8 laps): 1. PM Soorya (Chennai) (16:17.261); 2. Vivek Pillai (Chennai) (16:17.821); 3. Yashas RL (Bengaluru) (16:17.926).

Sriperumbudur:  It was a day of mixed emotions for IDEMITSU Honda Racing India team as Taiga Hada clinched his second podium of the season in the SS600 class while Rajiv Sethu and Anish Shetty had disappointing runs in the AP 250 class during the fourth round of the FIM Asia Road Racing Championship (ARRC) which concluded at the Madras Motor Race Track (MMRT) here on Sunday.

With engines buzzing right from the start of the day and the weather just perfect for race day, it was an adrenaline pumping day as bikes kept hitting the tarmac for their respective races.    

In the SuperSport 6000 class, Starting from 6th position, Hada kept the pace fast and caught up with each passing lap, finally finishing third with the second fastest lap time of the race (1.41:330 minute).

Finishing on top was Aussie star Anthony West who continued with his good form as he clinched the second top spot for this weekend. 

Stamping his authority, West on his Yamaha won by over seven seconds while recording his fourth win of the season which put him in line for his maiden ARRC title. 

Meanwhile, Tomoyoshi Koyoma (MUSASHi Boon Siew Honda), a former MotoGP rider finished on the second position.

Loudest cheer for Sethu, Shetty

When it was time for the AP 250 race, the duo of Rajiv Sethu and Anish Shetty received the loudest cheer from the 5000 supporters who had come to support the Indian team. Unfortunately things did not go their way as Sethu and Shetty finished on the 16th and 19th positions, thus not scoring any points. 

Sethu climbed three places on the grid but missed a point by a close gap while for Shetty, it was an injury which took a toll on him as he could not give his best shot.

Meanwhile 14-year-old Australian lad Travis Hall impressed one and all by clinching his first podium of the season as he battled his way out to the third position in the second race of the highly competitive Underbone 150cc class. 

Malaysian boys Ahmad Fazli Sham and Md. Helmi Azman finished on the first and second position respectively.

Indonesian Rheza Danica Ahrens, who is the championship leader in this category and has notched five victories in a row, managed to finish on the 17th position due to a crash early in the race.

The TVS One-Make Championship (Apache RR310) saw Vivek Pillai and PM Soorya, both from Chennai, winning one apiece. 

The victory helped Pillai (94 points) close in on championship leader Deepak Ravikumar (98), who finished second and fifth in the two races, Soorya managed to move up to mid-table with a tally of 33.

Related News