Central Railway meets FCI in final

Sports Reporter
Sunday, 3 June 2018

In semifinals, Central Railway beats Railway Police and Food Corporation of India ousts BEG

Pune: Food Corporation of India (FCI) will clash with Railway Police in the final of the 9-A-Side Hockey Tournament at Major Dhyanchand Hockey Poligras Stadium in Pimpri on Sunday.

In the semi-final, FCI scored a 3-2 win over BEG while Central Railway thumped Railway Police 4-1.

In the first match of the day, Akash Pawar gave FCI an early lead with a goal in the 7th minute, which was set up by Chirag Mane.

Six minutes later, Vikram Yadav made it 2-0 with a goal in the 13th minute. Akash was once again in action, as he assisted the goal.

BEG opened their account in 16th minute with Shakti Thakur finding the net off a pass by Javed Ahmed. FCI continued their domination, as in the opening minute of third quarter Venkatesh Kanchan came forward and set up a goal for Chirag Mane in the 31st minute.

Shakti was once again in action for BEG, as he scored the second goal for his team in the 31st minute. But efforts of Shakti was not enough as BEG lost the contest 2-3. 

In the second semi-final, after a goalless 10 minutes, Aniket Muthaya scored the first goal for Central Railway in the 11th minute, which was set up by Vishal Pillay. Central Railway kept finding scoring opportunities and their hard work was rewarded by two back to back goals in the 23rd and 24th minute respectively as Central Railway took a 3-0 lead.

First it was Yuvraj Walmiki, who received a pass of Akash Khaire, to score and make it 2-0 for Central Railway. The next goal was scored by Vineet Kamble, which was assisted by Yuvraj.

Railway Police reduced the deficit by one goal with Vankesh Kamble finding net in 26th minute. 

It turned out to be only little joy for Railway Police as Central Railway added one more goal to their tally with Satish Patil scoring in 32nd minute to complete a stunning 4-1 victory over Raliway Police. 

Results: (Semifinals)
Food Corporation of India  3 (Akash Pawar 7th, Vikram Yadav 13th, Chirag Mane 31st,  ) bt BEG 2 (Shakti Thakur 16th,  36th).
Central Railway 4 (Aniket Muthaya 11th, Yuvraj Walmiki 22nd, Vineet Kamble 23rd, Satish Patil 32nd ) bt Raliway Police 1 (Vankesh Deokar 26th).

Related News