Alegaonkar school wins a thriller

Sports Reporter
Wednesday, 30 August 2017

Rohit Gaikwad and Aditya Thorat score in tie-breaker as Alegaonkar High School beats Genba Moze

Pune: Rohit Gaikwad and Aditya Thorat scored tie-break goals to help Alegaonkar High School beat Genba Moze High School 2-0 after both the teams were tied goalless at the end of the regulation time, in the District-level Under-14 Inter-School hockey tournament at the Balewadi Sports Complex here on Tuesday.

The two teams had begun the match on even keel under overcast conditions. Both tried to break through the rival defence in vain and ended up goalless at the end of the final whistle, in the tournament organised by the District Sports Council and Education Department of the Pune Municipal Corporation.

In the five tries, no player from Genba Moze High School could break through Alegaonkar goalkeeper, while Rohit Gaikwad and Aditya Thorat found the target.

St Joseph’s High School, Khadki, defeated Angel School 4-0. Shivam Patil scored twice after Angeer Manthan had opened the scoring in the 2nd minute. Shivam scored int he 4th and 7th minutes, while Rohan Rathod struck in the 6th minute in a show of complete domination by St Joseph.

Aniket Agre’s 7th minute goal was enough for Modern High School beat SVS High School 1-0 and in their second match against Colonel Bhagat English Medium School, they were forced to play tie-breaker.

The two teams were tied 1-1 at the end of the regulation time and Modern High School won 3-2 after Aniket Agre, Shubham Raghav and Sahil Bhosale scored. For Colonel Bhagat High School Ashpak Shaikh and Simnan Sayyed scored.

In the last match of the day, St Patricks defeated Vidya Bhawan 1-0 thanks to Rohan Indalkar’s 2nd minute goal.

Related News