PCMC’s mayoral poll scheduled for Aug 4

Camil Parkhe
Saturday, 28 July 2018

Mayor Nitin Kalje and Deputy Mayor Shailaja More submitted resignations on instructions of the BJP leadership. 

Pimpri: Elections for the posts of Pimpri Chinchwad Municipal Corporation’s mayor and deputy mayor will be held on August 4. Divisional Commissioner Deepak Mhaiskar has appointed Pune Mahanagar Parivahan Mahamandal Limited (PMPML) Chairperson Nayana Munde as the returning officer for the polls. 

Mayor Nitin Kalje and Deputy Mayor Shailaja More submitted their resignations following instructions from the BJP leadership. The issue of change in PCMC office-bearers was discussed by Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis with the local BJP leadership in the city on Monday. Chinchwad MLA Laxman Jagtap and Bhosari MLA Mahesh Landge command the loyalty of a large number of the ruling party’s corporators and their supporters will be considered for the vacant posts. 
The mayoral post this time is reserved for Other Backward Class (OBC) category candidates.

Meanwhile, Pimpri Chinchwad OBC Sangharsha Samiti and Bara Balutedar Mahasangh have alleged that the BJP has been meting out injustice to real OBCs while selecting civic office-bearers. At a press conference here, the leaders objected to the ruling party selecting Kunbi caste persons for the OBC category posts. Pratap Gurav, Pradeep Pawar, Vishal Jadhav and Ananda Kudale were also present.

Outgoing mayor Kalje had submitted a Kunbi caste certificate to the election authorities and his caste document has been challenged in court by Ghanshyam Khedkar. Shatrugha Kate is a contender for the mayoral post and his election has also been challenged in the court by one Kailas Kunjir.

Related News