Nodal officer appointed for Uruli Devachi-Fursungi development

ST Correspondent
Thursday, 26 July 2018

The civic body finally appointed Nodal Officer Vikram Lahane

Pune: Following the warning of the National Green Tribunal (NGT) of imposing Rs 2 crore fine for failing to submit an action plan to dispose of  2.5 million tonnes of waste at Uruli Devachi and Fursungi villages, the civic body finally appointed Nodal Officer Vikram Lahane for the development of these villages on Wednesday.

The residents of these two villages had repeatedly complained about the lack of development ever since the merger of the villages took place. So, the administration has decided to appoint an officer to undertake a timely review of pending issues like roads, drainage, drinking water, solid waste management, health etc. 

City Mayor Mukta Tilak said, “For speedy development work at the newly merged villages, we have appointed a special officer who can take the day-to-day review of development work in these villages. We have issued an order to set up drinking water tanks in these villages and work of roads has already started.”

Rajendra Nimbalkar, Additional Municipal Commissioner said, “Both villages were affected due to the garbage depot for last few years, so no substantial development work took place. So, in order to solve the problems, we have appointed the deputy engineer.” According to officials, population of these villages is more than 75,000. 

Meanwhile, PMC’s Road Department has undertaken road development work in 11 merged villages. The civic body has decided to develop roads by spending Rs 73 lakh for each village. Dhanori Lohegaon-Wagholi Road, Malwadi to Sade Satara Nali, Z Chowk to Sadesatara Nali, Keshav Nagar to Manjari, Saswad Road, Fursungi Road, Mantarwadi to Uruli Devachi Road, Ambegaon Khurda  to Lake Vista City, Ambegaon Khurd to Pune-Satara Road subway to Ambegaon crematorium, Dhayari-Pari company to DSK Vishwa Road and NDA Road are the names of major roads.

In February 2017, the State decided to merge Lohegaon, Shivane-Uttamnagar, Shivane Extension, Mundhwa Hadapsar-Sadesatara Nali, Ambegaon Khurd, Undri, Dhayari, Ambegaon Budruk, Uruli Devachi and Fursungi into PMC limits. 

Related News