New Police Commissionerate for Pimpri-Chinchwad gets govt nod

Mubarak Ansari
Tuesday, 29 May 2018

The Pimpri-Chinchwad Police Commissionerate will be a reality soon as the State government on Monday issued a government resolution (GR) to the effect.

Pune: The Pimpri-Chinchwad Police Commissionerate will be a reality soon as the State government on Monday issued a government resolution (GR) to the effect. An officer holding the Additional Director General of Police rank (the same rank as that of the Pune police commissioner) will head the police unit. The government has allocated Rs 393 crore for the new establishment.

Last week, a list of 14 police inspectors (PIs) was published. These PIs will be transferred to the Pimpri-Chinchwad commissionerate once it becomes functional. As per the GR, the date of inauguration will be decided later. 

The new commissionerate will be formed out of some areas from the Pune city police and the Pune rural (district) police. It will have 15 police stations and will cater to a population of around 23 lakh people, including 17 lakh within the jurisdiction of Pimpri Chinchwad Municipal Corporation (PCMC), as per a 2011 census.
As per the GR, Pune city police commissionerate is divided in four zones, including areas of the Pune Municipal Corporation (PMC), the PCMC and some villages of the district. “There has been rapid urbanisation, growth of industries and educational institutions in PCMC and surrounding areas. The industrial areas of Chakan and Talegaon, besides the pilgrim towns of Dehu and Alandi, require heavy police bandobast. Also, most PCMC areas fall under Zone 3 of the Pune city police. 

This zone has the highest crime graph. These areas are far off from the Pune city police commissioner’s office. Therefore, a separate police commissionerate is needed,” states the Home Department GR.  There will be one police commissioner, one additional commissioner, three deputy commissioners of police (DCP) for crime branch/special branch, headquarters, traffic, eight assistant commissioners of police (ACPs), 67 police inspectors (PIs), 86 assistant police inspectors (APIs), 215 police sub inspectors (PSIs), 373 assistant sub inspectors (ASIs), 745 head constables, 1,022 police naiks and 2,163 constables. The government has also approved manpower for a police hospital and the clerical staff.

Out of Rs 393 crore, Rs 179.69 crore will be used for creation of 2,633 new posts and Rs 24.04 crore will be spent on office expenses while Rs 188.83 crore will be used for building quarters for police personnel. There had been demands for a separate commissionerate by local politicians for many years. However, a decision was taken in this regard by the current BJP-led government. Accordingly, the Director General of Police (DGP) had submitted a proposal for the commissionerate in 

The new police commissioner’s office will come up in Chinchwad. Some offices will be taken on rent while others will be constructed. The commissionerate may start functioning from August 15 (Independence Day), sources said.

Strength 4,840; 2,633 new posts

The commissionerate will comprise Sangvi, Hinjawadi, Wakad, Pimpri, Nigdi, Chinchwad, Bhosari, MIDC (Bhosari), Dighi and Chikhli police stations, which are part of the Pune city police. The Chakan, Alandi, Dehu Road, Talegaon-Dabhade and Talegaon-MIDC police stations will be included in the Pimpri-Chinchwad unit from the Pune rural police. There will be 4,840 officers and personnel including clerical staff. Of these 2,207 will be transferred from the Pune city and Pune rural police units, while 2,633 new posts will be created.

Related News