Many eye Mayor and Leader posts in PCMC

ST Correspondent
Friday, 25 May 2018

Since BJP has come into power in PCMC, it will give opportunities to maximum of elected members

Pimpri: After replacing Standing Committee members, BJP is now planning to replace the Mayor and Leader of the House of PCMC, as both of them have completed 15 months in the office.

Bhartiya Janata Party, which came into power in Pimpri Chinchwad Municipal Corporation (PCMC), had announced that an opportunity will be given to maximum of its elected members.

Considering this, Mayor Nitin Kalje and Leader of House Eknath Pawar are likely to face replacement. Among the contenders for these posts include Rahul Jadhav, Santosh Londhe from Bhosari constituency, Shatrughan Kate, Shashikant Kadam and Namdeo Dhake from Chinchwad constituency. Rahul Jadhav, who is a staunch supporter of MLA Mahesh Landge, got sidelined during the race for selection of Chairman of the Standing Committee. It is believed that the party had assured to give him fair a chance soon.  

Other names include Santosh Londhe, who belongs to the Landge camp, and Shatrughan Kate and Shashikant Kadam belonging to Jagtap camp. 

However, if it is decided that the post of Mayor will go to a candidate from Chinchwad constituency, then there will be competition between Kate Kadam and Santosh Londhe.

Similarly, for the post of Leader of House, Jadhav and Londhe will be likely candidates. Jadhav is a second time corporator. Earlier, he was elected on a MNS ticket.

According to sources, due to internal power dynamics within the party, the post of Mayor is likely to go to the corporator from Chinchwad assembly constituency. Similarly, the post of Leader of House is likely to remain with the candidates from Bhosari constituency. The sources claimed that it is believed that supporter of MLA Landge is likely to get a chance as the Leader of House. Meanwhile, when there are many takers for these two posts, not much interest is seen among the candidates for Deputy Mayor’s post. The sources claimed that this post is likely to remain with the corporator who belongs to Pimpri Assembly 

PCMC’s Future
- BJP is in power in 11 municipal corporations in the State. 
- Elections were held in February 2017. 
- The 15-month term of the Mayor will end on June 12.

Related News