State co-op sugar factories make it big

Wednesday, 29 August 2018

In maximum sugar crushing category, Vitthalrao Shinde Cooperative Sugar Factory of Solapur won the first prize.

PUNE: Cooperative sugar factories of Maharashtra have bagged nine of the 19 awards in the country awarded to sugar factories by National Federation of Cooperative Sugar Factories. Four awards were won by cooperative sugar factories of Uttar Pradesh, three by Haryana and one each by Gujarat, Madhya Pradesh and Tamil Nadu. 

According to the information shared by Sakhar Sangh, Pune, in all 83 cooperative sugar factories across the country had participated in the competition and the sugar factories were judged on technical efficiency, revenue generated, sugarcane production, overall management of the factory. In high recovery division Krantiagrani Dr GD Bapu Lad Sahakari Sakar Karkhana Limited, Sangli, bagged the first prize and the second prize went to Padmabhushan Krantiveer Dr Nagnathana Naikwadi Hutatma Kisan Ahir SSK Limited, Sangli. Karnal Cooperative Sugar Mill of Karnataka bagged the Best Cooperative Sugar Factory Award for getting first place in the other recovery area in the country. The second award in other recovery area section went to Ganga Kisan Cooperative Sugar Factory of Uttar Pradesh. 

Similarly, in technical efficiency, Shri Vignahar Cooperative Sugar Factory of Junnar won the first prize.

In revenue, Sahyadri Cooperative Sugar Factory of Uttar Pradesh bagged the first prize. While in maximum sugar crushing category Vitthalrao Shinde Cooperative Sugar Factory of Solapur won the first prize. 

Bhimashankar Cooperative Sugar Factory of Pargaon in Pune won the Dr Vasantadada Patil Award of Best Cooperative Sugar Factory. The award ceremony will be held on September 10 in New Delhi in presence of dignitaries like NCP Chief Sharad Pawar, Union Minister Nitin Gadkari and others.

Related News