NCP upset after losing seat in Konkan region

Pandurang Mhaske
Sunday, 1 July 2018

In the recent MLC election, the Shiv Sena bagged two seats out of four, where the BJP could retain only one seat

Mumbai: It’s a tough time for the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP), as it could not retain the MLC seat from Konkan graduate constituency for the legislative council. 

In the recent MLC election, the Shiv Sena bagged two seats out of four, where the BJP could retain only one seat. NCP contested Najib Mulla from Kokan graduate constituency against Niranjan Davkhare, who quit NCP and joined BJP. NCP leader Sharad Pawar was upset over Davkhare’s switching to BJP and he instructed his party cadre that Davkhare should not win the election. Even after instructions from the party chief, the NCP could not perform well in this election. 

The eleven seats from the legislative council are going to be vacant. The NCP and Congress could not retain their seats in the council, as they don’t have enough numbers to claim the seats in the council, as these members are to elected through MLAs votes. As a result of this, the ruling BJP is set to become the single largest party in the Legislative Council on the basis of its majority in the lower house.

The current party-wise strength in the 289 member Legislative Assembly is BJP 122, Sena 63, Congress 42, NCP 41, PWP 3, BVA 3, MIM 2, MNS 1, SP 1, BBM 1, CPI-M 1, RSP 1, Independents 7 and Nominated (Anglo-Indian) 1. Considering their numerical strength in the Legislative Assembly, the BJP can comfortably win five seats, the Shiv Sena three, while Congress-NCP can safely win one seat each and can also help sitting PWP MLC Jayant Patil to retain his seat. 

Of the 11 members, whose term of membership will end on July 27, four are from NCP, three from Congress, two of BJP and one each from Shiv Sena and Peasants and Workers Party of India (PWP). 

The current party-wise strength in the 78-member legislative council is NCP 20, Congress 18, BJP 20, Sena 11, JD-U 1, PWP-I 1, PRP 1, Independents 6. 

The 11 members, whose term ends on July 27, are Council Deputy Chairman Manikrao Thakare, Sanjay Dutt and Sharad Ranpise (all Congress), Sunil Tatkare, Jaideorao Gaikwad, Narendra Patil and Amarsing Pandit (NCP), Vijay Girkar and Minister for Dairy Development Mahadev Jankar (BJP), Anil Parab (Shiv Sena) and Jayant Patil (PWP). 
NCP spokesperson Nawab Malik alleged that Davkhare was working for BJP since he was in NCP. Davkhare was in the NCP when he started enrolling voters but did not submit all the forms. It’s nothing to do with our party’s failure, but it was only because of Davkhare’s betrayal, which cost us this seat,” said Malik.

Related News