MSRTC to run 9,320 extra buses this Diwali season

Monday, 22 October 2018

“All the travellers are requested to book their seats beforehand to avoid commotion at the last moment,” said Diwakar Raote

PUNE: The Maharashtra State Road Transport Corporation (MSRTC) has decided to run 9,320 special extra buses from various cities in Maharashtra from November 1 for the upcoming Diwali season. The travellers will be soon able to book the tickets for these special buses. These buses will run apart from the normal buses. 

“All the travellers are requested to book their seats beforehand to avoid commotion at the last moment,” said Diwakar Raote, Minister for Transport, Maharashtra.

Apart from planning inter-state extra buses, MSRTC has made reservations available for the passengers travelling on the busy routes to avoid last minute commotion for the tickets. The divisional office also ordered certain bus depots in the state to make the facility of the extra buses available immediately after receiving the demands from the public.

On the occasion of Diwali, the bus depots will be receiving a festive makeover. In view of the possibility of road accidents due to large-scale heavy traffic, mobile navigation and patrol boards will be deployed. The depots have been ordered to install drinking water stations. Attention should be given to cleanliness of buses and rounds of regularity and more buses should be mentioned as ‘Diwali Jada’. 

The officers of the departmental offices (parent officers) will be appointed to assist in the transportation of additional rush of passengers and appoint ‘Pravasi Mitra’ with badges to guide the passengers during the rush hours.

During Diwali, the Pune division of MSRTC will run buses from November 1 to 6 to Marathwada, Khandesh and Vidarbha. The extra buses will start their commute from the Pune Cantonment Board (PCB) Ground and Wakdewadi. Advance reservations have been made available for these buses. 

According to officials, during the peak season, the extra bus facility has been started at Shivajinagar, Swargate and Pimpri-Chinchwad bus stations. The buses will depart for Nashik and Aurangabad from Shivajinagar bus stand. From PCB ground and Wakdewadi buses will depart for Nagpur, Akola, Amravati, Ambad, Ambajogai, Ahmadpur, Beed, Ausa, Sillod, Chopda, Dhule, Hingoli, Jafrabad, Jalna, Kalamb, Malkapur, Mehkar, Jamner, Jalgaon, Nanded, Osmanabad, Parli, Parbhani, Partur, Parbhani, Shegaon, Tuljapur, Udgir, Umarga, Vashim, Yaval, Yavatmal and Buldhana. 

Buses for Kolhapur, Chiplun and Latur will depart from Pimpri-Chinchwad stand. Along with regular buses, extra buses to Kolhapur, Sangli, Satara and Solapur districts and on the Baramati-Bhor route will be departing from Swargate.

The tickets can be booked at the bus stations as well as online at and The code used on the website for Cantonment Board Ground is PUNECNT.

Related News